Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
okay, I knew making this that there was a chance of it being syrupy (reading the reviews) but, as it's the only pear jelly recipe I thought I would give it a try. Sure enough, very thin...so, after asking my mothers I have come up with this for future readers. 1. I used liquid pectic (3oz). My mother swears that gramma used to use powdered because she thought it also contained geletin. so, I'm wondering if the other syrupy reviewers used liquid? Also, the recipe did not state whether I should mash the pears, so basically I have pears in syrup. Taste pretty good though, which is why I gave it two stars. Will use on pancakes or something. *Updated* mashed the pears and recanned. worked out much better. So, mash your pears or you get syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This looked like a really good preserve recipe, but there was way too much syrup for the amount of pears. Could there be a mistake in the amount of sugar called for? 8 cups seemed like a lot for only 6 cups of pears. Definitely won't do again unless a recipe correction is received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Great flavor and easy to make... I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was looking for a Pear jam recipe, so after the pears cooked I used my handheld mixed and pureed the pears before adding the pectin. Great recipe. Yum! Although be prepared... it makes a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This makes wonderful jam. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The jam set quickly and was perfectly spiced. It's great on a bagel with cream cheese, as suggested by another reviewer. It is also great on a peanut butter sandwich or by itself. Perhaps the other reviewers didn't let the jelly boil long enough after adding the pectin or sugar. That could make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I just made this recipe; I was originally looking for a pear butter recipe and this seemed pretty close after reading the reviews. I reduced thecwhite sugar by 1/2-1 cup; reduced the nutmeg by 1/2 tsp, the cloves by 1 tsp, and added 3/4 tsp cinnamon. I also increased the lemon juice to 2 TBSP and reduced the water by 1/2 cup. After simmering the pear chunks I used my immersion blender to "puree" the pears (I did leave some fruit chunks). I added a 1/2 tsp butter when I added the pectin to help reduce foaming. I think I cooked the final mixture before the brown sugar and spice additions for 10 or more minutes to ensure setting. I filled 10 8 oz. jars in the end and had a fragrant, tasty "butter." If I made this again I think I would replace the water with pear nectar for added "pearness."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I was looking for a spicy pear preserve recipe and am glad I found this one! It is easy and very, very yummy. I am looking forward to making a pear preserve cake at Christmas with a jar of these! These are a perfect fall/winter preserve for your breakfast and brunch table. Would make lovely gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe is great!! I had some pears from my Fathers pear tree and froze them. I thawed them, cut them up and made this recipe. I did alter it a bit (I always seem to be altering recipes). I did not have nutmeg so I used cinnamon. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon and Allspice. And I added more brown sugar. Made an amazing batch of Preserves. Tastes excellent. I got 7 1/2 pint jars and 2 pint jars. Two of the half pint jars are more liquid than the rest, does anyone know why this would be? Anyway I highly recommend this recipe. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out excellent and is now my favorite recipe for pear preserves. I have canned a lot of pear preserves but decided to try a new recipe and found this one and I love it. It has a wonderful rich flavour and very easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very straight forward directions made this recipe easy to follow. The results are scrumptuous -- and I'm not a pear fan! I tried the receipe once yesterday (while I was canning various fruit from our yard). It was so good that I made a second batch! This is even good enough to include in the jam sampler basket I give to my kids' teachers as Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing! This recipe is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I give this 5 stars for flavor, but 1 star for poor directions and a set failure, with an average of 3 stars. If there is a next time I make this I will follow the directions given on the pectin product with the following changes to give it this recipe's spicyness and nice touch of brown sugar: 4 cups chopped pears, 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, 1 package pectin (which happens to be only 1.75 oz.), 4 1/2 cups white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (just substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for a total of 5 cups sugar), 1 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1 tsp. nutmeg (I can't believe I'm saying this since I adore spices, but there was WAY too much allspice in this recipe). Notice I would not add water, I believe this is why this recipe fails at setting. The recipe on the pectin box does not include water since the pears break down and basically melt anyway. Do step one as listed here, step two would exclude the water and I would simmer uncovered to let any extra liquid evaporate. I would add both sugars and the spices once the pear, lemon juice and pectin mixture comes to a rolling boil. Return to a rolling boil for a minute then can as step 4 states. I have made numerous jam, preserve, jelly, and canning recipes in general and this one was just poorly written. Try it with the above recommendations and I'm sure it will set and be as it should. It is delicious, but syrupy instead of gelled. I'm hoping to use what I have to make the pear preserves cake on this site and I would love to try i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States