Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very straight forward directions made this recipe easy to follow. The results are scrumptuous -- and I'm not a pear fan! I tried the receipe once yesterday (while I was canning various fruit from our yard). It was so good that I made a second batch! This is even good enough to include in the jam sampler basket I give to my kids' teachers as Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing! This recipe is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I was looking for a spicy pear preserve recipe and am glad I found this one! It is easy and very, very yummy. I am looking forward to making a pear preserve cake at Christmas with a jar of these! These are a perfect fall/winter preserve for your breakfast and brunch table. Would make lovely gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This looked like a really good preserve recipe, but there was way too much syrup for the amount of pears. Could there be a mistake in the amount of sugar called for? 8 cups seemed like a lot for only 6 cups of pears. Definitely won't do again unless a recipe correction is received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Great flavor and easy to make... I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was looking for a Pear jam recipe, so after the pears cooked I used my handheld mixed and pureed the pears before adding the pectin. Great recipe. Yum! Although be prepared... it makes a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out excellent and is now my favorite recipe for pear preserves. I have canned a lot of pear preserves but decided to try a new recipe and found this one and I love it. It has a wonderful rich flavour and very easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I followed this recipe to a tee and when my jars cooled off, I was left with a watery top and heavy sugary syrup on top. It sure smelled good though. I'm new to making preserves so I'm sure I did something wrong, but I don't know what. If anyone has a clue, I would love to hear it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I did this in large part based on the reviews. I must have done something wrong - the liquid, after 2 weeks, is no where close to set - it's of a light syrup consistency. I didn't deviate from the recipe, or so I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I love this recipe! Reminds me a bit of old fashioned apple butter flavors.I ground fresh allspice and was worried it would be to pungent but it tempered after sitting a month Goes great with cream cheese on toasted bagels also on vanilla icecream. Thanx for sharing your Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I cut down on the spices by half and this recipe went over great with all my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
okay, I knew making this that there was a chance of it being syrupy (reading the reviews) but, as it's the only pear jelly recipe I thought I would give it a try. Sure enough, very thin...so, after asking my mothers I have come up with this for future readers. 1. I used liquid pectic (3oz). My mother swears that gramma used to use powdered because she thought it also contained geletin. so, I'm wondering if the other syrupy reviewers used liquid? Also, the recipe did not state whether I should mash the pears, so basically I have pears in syrup. Taste pretty good though, which is why I gave it two stars. Will use on pancakes or something. *Updated* mashed the pears and recanned. worked out much better. So, mash your pears or you get syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nookerbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States