Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I make many kinds of jam and preserves each year and was eager to try my hand at pear preserves. This was terrible. I thought I had made a mistake the first time, so I made it again paying close attention to the ingredients and cooking time. It smelled delicious while cooking, but it was a complete waste of ingredients. I expected it to be runny from the reviews, but the results were beyond redemption. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I give this 5 stars for flavor, but 1 star for poor directions and a set failure, with an average of 3 stars. If there is a next time I make this I will follow the directions given on the pectin product with the following changes to give it this recipe's spicyness and nice touch of brown sugar: 4 cups chopped pears, 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, 1 package pectin (which happens to be only 1.75 oz.), 4 1/2 cups white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (just substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for a total of 5 cups sugar), 1 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1 tsp. nutmeg (I can't believe I'm saying this since I adore spices, but there was WAY too much allspice in this recipe). Notice I would not add water, I believe this is why this recipe fails at setting. The recipe on the pectin box does not include water since the pears break down and basically melt anyway. Do step one as listed here, step two would exclude the water and I would simmer uncovered to let any extra liquid evaporate. I would add both sugars and the spices once the pear, lemon juice and pectin mixture comes to a rolling boil. Return to a rolling boil for a minute then can as step 4 states. I have made numerous jam, preserve, jelly, and canning recipes in general and this one was just poorly written. Try it with the above recommendations and I'm sure it will set and be as it should. It is delicious, but syrupy instead of gelled. I'm hoping to use what I have to make the pear preserves cake on this site and I would love to try i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought the spices overpowered the taste of the pears. I think I will leae out the spices next time and maybe decrease the water content like another person had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
First batch was syrupy so for second batch, I reduced the sugar to 6 1/2 cups. I substituted cinnamon for nutmeg for both batches. (Was out of nutmeg.) Followed recipe instructions but cooked for 9 minutes stirring constantly after I added brown sugar and spices. Think I will reduce water by half next time. These preserves are YUMMY! Think I will use syrupy preserves for topping on cake and ice cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have made pear preserves before but couldn't find my recipe. This one sounded good so I tried it. I am disappointed. Although it has a good taste I ended up with jars with liquid on bottom and a few floating pears on top. It definitely needs some kind of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Taste was ok. Way too much spice. Allspice is overpowering. Mine needed a little extra cooking time or something. It was too runny. Cooked the first batch and threw it out. Did not set and tasted too strong. Second batch was better. Used only half the spices and added more pectin. Will try again maybe with no spices. I really liked the flavor before adding anything more than brown sugar at the end. Can be a great recipe to "tweek" to your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe the first time I've ever canned anything. I pureed the pears first cause I'm not fond of anything too chunky and then I fiddled slightly with the spice reducing the allspice and nutmeg by 1/2 a tsp and adding 1/2 a tsp each of ginger and cinnamon. The preserves smell wonderful and taste like christmas! They have a beautiful deep mahogany color. My only problem seems to be that my lids didn't seal. Will wait 24 hours and try to reprocess again if seals fail. I know alot of the reviews complained about it being too syrupy but I did not have the problem at all, cooled it seems to be the consistency of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Hope this helps anyone,I followed the recipe. and everything was fine, so I thought I would let you know, I feel you must stir all the time after the simmering, and make sure it comes to a boil while stirring before finishing that step. I did have to let my pears coo more than the 10 minutes, I let them cook 20, because I wanted to be able to use a potato masher to cut then in to chucks. and they did not get soft enough till then, I then followed the recipe. making sure that I contuined to stir and the pears boiled, add the pectin and 1/2 tsp of butter, due to the box said to.(however my box was 1.75 oz of sure jell.) I then stirred until it came to a complete boil while stirring, ( I had my sugar, measured and in 1 bowl, and my brown sugar and spices( which I added 2 tsp cimnnamon because I like it.lol)in another bowl. poured in sugar and when it came back to a boil while still stirring set timer ro 1 minute. took off heat and poured brown sugar and spices in and contiuned to stir.I did keep my jars in the boiling water so they was hot when I put the pears in. put lids on and put back into the boiling water for 10 minutes. I have not tried them yet, but felt I would go ahead and do my review because taste was not a problem, Mine did not have a lot of juice and set fine, did make the amount stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I'll rate this at 5 stars because of the fantastic taste. It's a little too liquid, so, I'll add more pectin the next time around. The orignial 48 servings will yield 10 half-pint containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Ive made this twice now. It has a magnificent taste, but mine also did not set right either time. I added extra pears the second time as I was left with syrup at the end. I am gonna make again and add an extra 1/2 pack at least of sure jell. I dont use liquid, not for any reason than Ive never trid it. I will suggest taking a jar of this and pouring over your ham (especially a sprial cut one)before you bake it pushing it the cracks of the meat. Excellent nice flavor. I will make this again and gave as gifts and everyone loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States