Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I think that the people who are having problems are not familiar with the jam making process. NEVER use less sugar than the recipe calls for. To add less will most certainly cause there to be a jelling problem. I mashed up the pears as they cooked. I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I was a little worried at first with the spices but they were just right. Very homey and old timey and just delicious. I think this would be very good on vanilla ice cream during the winter. Thank you for a great recipe. I needed to find a way to preserve an abundance of free pears from my friend's tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
First time making preserves and was so excited! Did cut the sugar to 6 cups because of reviews. Still way too much syrup! Pears need to be chopped fine, did not break down well. They're still in the cooker, hope they thicken up!! Cut spices to 1 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I haven't made this, although I have made lots of jelly! There are multiple things that can cause jelly or jam to not set, all a person can do is try to correct it. The first time this happened to me I went online looking for solutions and this is what I found and it worked great for me! This is for powdered pectin ONLY, I didn't get the recipe for liquid as I prefer powdered. ~~Measure 1 Tbsp water and 1 1/2 tsp pectin for each cup of jelly or jam you have. Bring it to al boil in a saucepan. CAREFUL, as this is thick and you have to work the 2 into each other. Remove from heat and stir into jelly that has been heating on the stove. Then, add 2 Tsp of sugar for each cup of jelly and bring to rolling boil for 1 min. Put in sterilized jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used liquid pectin and had to double the dose because if not it comes out very syrupy. Great pear preserves. We bought a farm in SC and it had an orchard with pear trees and this was the first year that we had pears, and lots of them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
The syrup had a good flavor, there was just so much more syrup than pears for the ratio I prefer. I prefer the jars to have pears floating from top to bottom with syrup in between. On the second batch, I put 9 cups of sliced pears to 6 cups sugar. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This did not turn out right at all. I spent a good bit of my time making this and it turned out liquidy. Now, I have over 15 jelly jars full of liquidy pears that are good for nothing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I've made the pear honey also listed on this site. It's good. It's possibly what many are looking for in a pear preserve/jam/jelly kind of way. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Musgrave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great. Family and neighbors really like it. All I added was 1/4 tsp cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This turned out to be a little runny for me. And my husband said it had to much all spice in it. I took a jar that I had left, and made a cobbler out of it. It cut the allspice down, and my husband said he did not want another peach cobbler as long as I put up pear like this. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetpea62779
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Very good and set great! I changed a few things. Used 8 cups pears, 2 TBLS lemon juice, and no water only put 1/4 of spices called for. I put all this in pot first and cooked until pears were soft. Only used 4 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown mixed together and all put in at same time. Make sure you have a full rolling boil before timing 1 min.have made two runs so far and have 22 half pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea62779

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States