Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by sweetpea62779
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Very good and set great! I changed a few things. Used 8 cups pears, 2 TBLS lemon juice, and no water only put 1/4 of spices called for. I put all this in pot first and cooked until pears were soft. Only used 4 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown mixed together and all put in at same time. Make sure you have a full rolling boil before timing 1 min.have made two runs so far and have 22 half pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea62779

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
After fixing this recipe,I was looking around for a tv film crew to tell me you 've been punked A lot of good ingredients could have been used in something else. To much liquid, and I even got tired of waiting, and put this mixture in my crockpot overnight and it still didn't thickened. Somebody must have witheld an ingredient or instruction or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
THIS WAS HORRIBLE. I AM SO SORRY BUT I COULDN'T EVEN FINISH MY BISCUIT. THE CONSISTENCY WAS FINE BUT THE TASTE IS WAY TO SWEET. YOU COULDN'T EVEN TASTE THE PEARS. I WILL KEEP LOOKING FOR A BETTER RECIPE AND POST ONE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is awful. It only got one star because that's the least I can do. I've been trying to find a pear preserve recipe like my grandma made, and this is definitely not it. I reduced the sugar by 3 cups and the water by 1/2. I still ended up with soup - WAY to much syrup with a few bits of pears floating in it. It set fine though; try using dry pectin not liquid. Will NOT try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I make many kinds of jam and preserves each year and was eager to try my hand at pear preserves. This was terrible. I thought I had made a mistake the first time, so I made it again paying close attention to the ingredients and cooking time. It smelled delicious while cooking, but it was a complete waste of ingredients. I expected it to be runny from the reviews, but the results were beyond redemption. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I give this 5 stars for flavor, but 1 star for poor directions and a set failure, with an average of 3 stars. If there is a next time I make this I will follow the directions given on the pectin product with the following changes to give it this recipe's spicyness and nice touch of brown sugar: 4 cups chopped pears, 2 tbs. fresh lemon juice, 1 package pectin (which happens to be only 1.75 oz.), 4 1/2 cups white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (just substituting 1/2 cup brown sugar for a total of 5 cups sugar), 1 1/4 tsp. allspice and 1 tsp. nutmeg (I can't believe I'm saying this since I adore spices, but there was WAY too much allspice in this recipe). Notice I would not add water, I believe this is why this recipe fails at setting. The recipe on the pectin box does not include water since the pears break down and basically melt anyway. Do step one as listed here, step two would exclude the water and I would simmer uncovered to let any extra liquid evaporate. I would add both sugars and the spices once the pear, lemon juice and pectin mixture comes to a rolling boil. Return to a rolling boil for a minute then can as step 4 states. I have made numerous jam, preserve, jelly, and canning recipes in general and this one was just poorly written. Try it with the above recommendations and I'm sure it will set and be as it should. It is delicious, but syrupy instead of gelled. I'm hoping to use what I have to make the pear preserves cake on this site and I would love to try i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I thought the spices overpowered the taste of the pears. I think I will leae out the spices next time and maybe decrease the water content like another person had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
First batch was syrupy so for second batch, I reduced the sugar to 6 1/2 cups. I substituted cinnamon for nutmeg for both batches. (Was out of nutmeg.) Followed recipe instructions but cooked for 9 minutes stirring constantly after I added brown sugar and spices. Think I will reduce water by half next time. These preserves are YUMMY! Think I will use syrupy preserves for topping on cake and ice cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have made pear preserves before but couldn't find my recipe. This one sounded good so I tried it. I am disappointed. Although it has a good taste I ended up with jars with liquid on bottom and a few floating pears on top. It definitely needs some kind of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Taste was ok. Way too much spice. Allspice is overpowering. Mine needed a little extra cooking time or something. It was too runny. Cooked the first batch and threw it out. Did not set and tasted too strong. Second batch was better. Used only half the spices and added more pectin. Will try again maybe with no spices. I really liked the flavor before adding anything more than brown sugar at the end. Can be a great recipe to "tweek" to your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States