Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I did not read the reviews prior to making this and wish I did. I usually do...anyway, I doubled this recipe and when I started pouring the sugar I thought 16 cups was a lot, so I put in 12 cups. I used everything else exactly and I added another 2 oz of pectin (so 6 altogether). There were definitely not enough pears. I pureed what was in there and added an additional 12 cups (making it 24 cups altogether). The 12 cups I diced and cooked them in another pan with just water. I then aded them to the syrup. It was still too sweet, so to counteract the sweetness I added 3 more tbsp of lemon juice (making it 5 tbsp altogether). I ended up with 30 - 8 oz. jars. The preserves are still very very sweet. I thought about putting it on ice cream or maybe adding it into bread recipes and don't use an additional sugar in your bread recipes. My son LOVED this on toast, and he has a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I don't know what happened, I followed the recipe exactly and it was sickening sweet. It also didn't set up and it was mostly thick syrup and not many pears. I used unripe pears not green green but not eating ripe either. Thought maybe would be ok on vanilla ice cream but still WAAAAAAAAAy TO SWEET. I have made jams/preserves for years and have never had a problem like this. I dumped all 10 jars out and will make something else. I was really disappointed because this was something different and was going to use in my Christmas Baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was very easy and good. The only problem i had was that the recipe did not say how long u should wait until u eat. I had a lot of juice left over and i just put in some jars also. I will use for waffles or pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My biggest mistake? NOT reading the reviews! I don't know why I skipped that step!! I have ended up with GREAT tasting syrup with big chunks of pear! Next time I will be cooking the pears longer, using a potato masher, and adding more pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was my first attempt at preserves and I found the recipe fairly easy. I followed other reviews and cut the spices to 1/2 teaspoon each. I also cooked the pears for about 20 minutes, frequently mashing them with a potato masher until they were more like pear sauce than pear chunks. I did use 1 and 1/2 boxes of pectin, rather than 1 box, to make up for the difference in the amount in the recipe and the amount in 1 box of pectin. Other than that, I followed the recipe and a few basic canning tips from other sites. I had no problem with the preserves setting. They were fine the next day and seem to have set even more a week later. This is great on PB&J sandwiches, english muffins and just plain toast. A keeper at our house and will make yummy holiday gifts for co-workers and neighbors. I have made two batches and got 9, 8oz. jelly jars from each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Thanks for sharing; looks similar to my Grandma and her name was Bridget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Beautiful in jars. Great tasting, and quite gourmet. I just cut back on the water and sugar I also added a touch of blackberries for color to the 2nd batch. Gave it a formal look for holiday. I had no problem with it being syrupy after cutting back on water. I loved it. And the taste was unique thanks to your Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Loved the ease of this recipe! Also I have taken into account the "syrupy" comments. It looks like this is a North Carolina Pear recipe... NC pears are a hard dry pear not like what you may see elsewhere. Mine did not turn out like a fully set up jelly but exactly what i would expect from a preserve... with my local NC pears that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great taste but too juicy. My last patch I drain off the juice and put it in jars to use on pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Like a few other poster, my first attempt turned out runny. More user error than anything :). For my second attempt a made a few minor changes. Decreased the all spice and nutmeg to half a tsp. And actually used 2 oz of pectin by using 1 and 1/2 boxes. Pectin boxes now only come in 1.75 oz boxes. I also cooked the pears for about 30 minutes and mashed them with a potato masher before adding the pectin and sugar. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States