Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My biggest mistake? NOT reading the reviews! I don't know why I skipped that step!! I have ended up with GREAT tasting syrup with big chunks of pear! Next time I will be cooking the pears longer, using a potato masher, and adding more pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was my first attempt at preserves and I found the recipe fairly easy. I followed other reviews and cut the spices to 1/2 teaspoon each. I also cooked the pears for about 20 minutes, frequently mashing them with a potato masher until they were more like pear sauce than pear chunks. I did use 1 and 1/2 boxes of pectin, rather than 1 box, to make up for the difference in the amount in the recipe and the amount in 1 box of pectin. Other than that, I followed the recipe and a few basic canning tips from other sites. I had no problem with the preserves setting. They were fine the next day and seem to have set even more a week later. This is great on PB&J sandwiches, english muffins and just plain toast. A keeper at our house and will make yummy holiday gifts for co-workers and neighbors. I have made two batches and got 9, 8oz. jelly jars from each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Thanks for sharing; looks similar to my Grandma and her name was Bridget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Beautiful in jars. Great tasting, and quite gourmet. I just cut back on the water and sugar I also added a touch of blackberries for color to the 2nd batch. Gave it a formal look for holiday. I had no problem with it being syrupy after cutting back on water. I loved it. And the taste was unique thanks to your Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Loved the ease of this recipe! Also I have taken into account the "syrupy" comments. It looks like this is a North Carolina Pear recipe... NC pears are a hard dry pear not like what you may see elsewhere. Mine did not turn out like a fully set up jelly but exactly what i would expect from a preserve... with my local NC pears that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great taste but too juicy. My last patch I drain off the juice and put it in jars to use on pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Like a few other poster, my first attempt turned out runny. More user error than anything :). For my second attempt a made a few minor changes. Decreased the all spice and nutmeg to half a tsp. And actually used 2 oz of pectin by using 1 and 1/2 boxes. Pectin boxes now only come in 1.75 oz boxes. I also cooked the pears for about 30 minutes and mashed them with a potato masher before adding the pectin and sugar. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I think that the people who are having problems are not familiar with the jam making process. NEVER use less sugar than the recipe calls for. To add less will most certainly cause there to be a jelling problem. I mashed up the pears as they cooked. I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I was a little worried at first with the spices but they were just right. Very homey and old timey and just delicious. I think this would be very good on vanilla ice cream during the winter. Thank you for a great recipe. I needed to find a way to preserve an abundance of free pears from my friend's tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
First time making preserves and was so excited! Did cut the sugar to 6 cups because of reviews. Still way too much syrup! Pears need to be chopped fine, did not break down well. They're still in the cooker, hope they thicken up!! Cut spices to 1 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I haven't made this, although I have made lots of jelly! There are multiple things that can cause jelly or jam to not set, all a person can do is try to correct it. The first time this happened to me I went online looking for solutions and this is what I found and it worked great for me! This is for powdered pectin ONLY, I didn't get the recipe for liquid as I prefer powdered. ~~Measure 1 Tbsp water and 1 1/2 tsp pectin for each cup of jelly or jam you have. Bring it to al boil in a saucepan. CAREFUL, as this is thick and you have to work the 2 into each other. Remove from heat and stir into jelly that has been heating on the stove. Then, add 2 Tsp of sugar for each cup of jelly and bring to rolling boil for 1 min. Put in sterilized jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States