Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great Recipe! I have made 3 batches today and each one was better. The first was a heavy on the syrup, the second was more fruit but not quite enough, the third was perfect. BEST ADVICE....use 3 lbs of pears before you peal and dice and then cram the 4 cups of fruit in the measuring cup. I did this the 3rd time and it was wonderful, lots of fruit with the perfect amount of syrup. Today was my first attempt at canning.....I think I am hooked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is another one of those recipes you shouldn't be allowed too rate unless you spent at least 90'% of your life below the Mason Dixon. Like many of the other southern recipes that require a particular skill set to make, made correctly, this is the best peaar preserves I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I was trying to remember my mother's pear preserve recipe because I am going to make them tomorrow for the first time. After viewing this and seeing comments about too much syrup, I remembered my mother used 1 cup of sugar per 1 cup of pears. I am going to rate this 5 stars because someone took the time to post a pear preserve recipe. It has been 40 years since I have watched my mother make preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have never done this kind of thing before but someone gave me tons of pears and I didnt want to waste them. The recipe was easy to follow however I only used 1\4 of the spices and it turned out GREAT!!! my kids love it and for some reason want to eat it on everything... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very good! The kids love it. Didn't change a thing and it turned out perfect. Yes you have to use a hand blender or something to puree the pears, and I always use a powdered pectin. Not sure why others are having a syrup consistency. I read somewhere once that in canning jams if you want it thicker, you do something different with the fruit. Mine was actually very thick. Read your pectin insert, it has a lot of information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
it is supposed to be "syrupy" and it is supposed to have more syrup than pears and NO you're not supposed to mash the pears. it's preserves people...NOT JELLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Wiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
WOW - this is a keeper! Thanks for sharing; I "accidently" used 1 Pouch of Certo Liquid pectin and the jam set up very well; I also carefully pureed the pears with a stick blender after simmering to minimize the chunks because we like a little smoother texture; AMAZING! Next time I will try with a little less sugar to see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wonderful! I used half low-sugar pectin, half regular pectin and cut the white sugar to 4 cups. I only used 1/2 a tsp of allspice and nutmeg and added a few dashes of cinnamon. My kids LOVED this. Each batch made 7 half pint jars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Came out very tasty, but it did come out more like the consistency of honey with fruit in it, only a little more runny. I was hoping for more thickness. Still good on toast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I would like to thank you for sharing, you did not have to but you did! I live in the deep south & the pears are different here. For an experienced cook/canner, this recipe can be adjusted to work out great. I cooked pears down until tender then mashed them with a potato masher, cut the water to 1/4 cup, cut the sugar to 4 cups, & added 1 box of unflavored geletin. I did not add the spices because I like the simple flavor of the fruit. I think I might add a couple of apples next time. It really congealed well and turned out great! I hope this helps those of you who might need guidance with canning preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States