Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Summer
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
REDUCED SUGAR BY HALF!! This was my first time making preserves...I used 5 cups sliced pears, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 cup water, 2oz pectin, 3.5 cups white sugar, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup brown sugar. The only modification in the cooking process was that I used a potato masher to mash the pears before the sugar, leaving some chunks. It gelled nicely and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
this recipe is syrupy but it is exactly how my great grandmother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peachy
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I just finished making it and left some in a bowl. It is setting up beautifully. My kids and I tried it on some toast and love it! I hate when changes are made to recipes on this site before making it the original way first, but after reading all the reviews and noticing a LOT of people had theirs turn out syrupy I felt I had to make adjustments. I also looked at my Mamaw's pear recipe and noticed she said to lessen the sugar if the pears were ripe. So I did this. I used 5 1/2 cups of sugar for 6 cups of pear chunks. Her original recipe said 1 cup of sugar for 1 cup of pears and someone else noted that too. I had a container of powdered pectin. I used about 5 T of pectin. I used Bartlett pears and mine were pretty ripe. I Cooked them for 10 minutes, stirred and chopped them even smaller, cooked for 10 minutes more to make them nice and tender. I then added everything else as stated. I think the spices can be adjusted according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I was reading the reviews before I made this recipe and for everyone who said it was too runny typical Pear Jam is 3lbs of fruit to 5 cups of sugar so adjust accordingly. I am currently making now so I will rate after I am finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Have made this many time over the years. (my gram love it) I find if my pears are very ripe I squeeze out the extra juice. Then I add the juice to the water and only add 1 cup. It seems to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I love your grandmother's recipe. In reading reviews, and being new at canning,(but not cooking)I used 8c pears,6c sugar and 2c brown sugar. I love the rich taste. The pectin came in 1.75z pkgs instead of 2z so I weighed out 2.25z.(x-tra pectin added because of reviews). Changed around some spices to my liking (1/4 tsp fresh ginger, 1 tbs cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp grated nutmeg)and everything worked. Thank you for sharing this recipe, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I agree with a previous post that the spices could be cut some. A little strong for my taste. Overpowers the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great Recipe! I have made 3 batches today and each one was better. The first was a heavy on the syrup, the second was more fruit but not quite enough, the third was perfect. BEST ADVICE....use 3 lbs of pears before you peal and dice and then cram the 4 cups of fruit in the measuring cup. I did this the 3rd time and it was wonderful, lots of fruit with the perfect amount of syrup. Today was my first attempt at canning.....I think I am hooked!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is another one of those recipes you shouldn't be allowed too rate unless you spent at least 90'% of your life below the Mason Dixon. Like many of the other southern recipes that require a particular skill set to make, made correctly, this is the best peaar preserves I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I was trying to remember my mother's pear preserve recipe because I am going to make them tomorrow for the first time. After viewing this and seeing comments about too much syrup, I remembered my mother used 1 cup of sugar per 1 cup of pears. I am going to rate this 5 stars because someone took the time to post a pear preserve recipe. It has been 40 years since I have watched my mother make preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States