Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Did not like this recipe at all. The sugar:pear ratio too much sugar: Too runny: The spices over power the fruit: Will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made it twice... Way to sticky sweet and runny. Second time used 1/2 the sugar and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yes it is syrupy. Icut the sugar to 2 cups and the water down to3/4 cup. Used 8-9 cups of pesrs. Delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I had been looking for an old fashion pear preserve recipe and this was it. I made it today and thought it was perfect. I wanted the taste I remembered as a child and this was it. I grew up in Georgia with home made biscuits and pear preserves and yes they were syrupy and that is just how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This recipe is very tasty! I took the advise from one of the others and while my pears were simmering I mashed them. Other than that I followed the recipe step by step and it turne out great and thick! No runny syrup at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Summer
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
REDUCED SUGAR BY HALF!! This was my first time making preserves...I used 5 cups sliced pears, 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 cup water, 2oz pectin, 3.5 cups white sugar, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 cup brown sugar. The only modification in the cooking process was that I used a potato masher to mash the pears before the sugar, leaving some chunks. It gelled nicely and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
this recipe is syrupy but it is exactly how my great grandmother used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peachy
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I just finished making it and left some in a bowl. It is setting up beautifully. My kids and I tried it on some toast and love it! I hate when changes are made to recipes on this site before making it the original way first, but after reading all the reviews and noticing a LOT of people had theirs turn out syrupy I felt I had to make adjustments. I also looked at my Mamaw's pear recipe and noticed she said to lessen the sugar if the pears were ripe. So I did this. I used 5 1/2 cups of sugar for 6 cups of pear chunks. Her original recipe said 1 cup of sugar for 1 cup of pears and someone else noted that too. I had a container of powdered pectin. I used about 5 T of pectin. I used Bartlett pears and mine were pretty ripe. I Cooked them for 10 minutes, stirred and chopped them even smaller, cooked for 10 minutes more to make them nice and tender. I then added everything else as stated. I think the spices can be adjusted according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I was reading the reviews before I made this recipe and for everyone who said it was too runny typical Pear Jam is 3lbs of fruit to 5 cups of sugar so adjust accordingly. I am currently making now so I will rate after I am finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Have made this many time over the years. (my gram love it) I find if my pears are very ripe I squeeze out the extra juice. Then I add the juice to the water and only add 1 cup. It seems to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States