Grandma's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I finally found a peanut butter fudge that sets up!! If you don't have a thermometer, just boil (med-low heat) for 6 minutes after boiling begins. Also, 4 large marshmallows = 1 ounce. Cheaper than creme and works great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I have this recipe except it calls for 1 jar of peanut butter(18 ounces) and it is really good fudge. So easy to make. My advice is to have the baking dish lined with waxed paper or foil ready and have the marshmallow fluff, peanut butter and vanilla in the bowl so when you remove the milk/sugar mixture from the heat, you can just dump the fluff/peanut butter in the pan and get right to mixing it up quickly. You got to work fast and trying to scoop the fluff out of the jar is too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
GREAT FUDGE! I ALSO USE MARSHMELLOWS INSTEAD OF THE CREME. THEY ARE CHEAPER AND WORK JUST AS WELL. :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've never made fudge before but this recipe is so easy to do. DEBRAPRICE gave great advice about the temperature: "If you don't have a thermometer, just boil (med-low heat) for 6 minutes after boiling begins." The fudge turned out wonderful. I am definitely going to be using this recipe again! Edited to add: I have made this fudge many more times and just wanted to add a couple more things. I butter the pan and then place wax paper in it to make for easier cleanup. Also it is easier to get the fudge out. I have found that if I boil the mixture for 10 minutes it turns out a little more firm, just how my family loves it. Thanks again! Update (2/4/09): I bought a silicone pan and it has been a lifesaver! No more fussing with wax paper or greasing a pan. All you have to do is dump the fudge in the silicone pan (placed on a baking sheet for structure) and pop it in the fridge. It sets up perfectly. Once you're ready to cut it all you do is turn the silicone pan upside down and the big "block" of fudge easily comes out on it's own. It's so much easier this way, plus the fudge doesn't get mangled at all while cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My thumbs up to you on this recipe. It turned out perfect!! I had to make 3 batches within one weeks time and i mean it was absolutely the best fudge recipe i ever made. So creamy and smooth...perfect texture..THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE....ITS A KEEEEEPER!!!! THIS IS MY ONLY RECIPE FOR FUDGE FOR LIFE......CHANGE NOTHING IT'S ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!!! YOU ARE AND OUTSTANDING CANDY MAKER....YOU SHOULD GO INTO BUISNESS AND SALE THIS STUFF IT'S SO GREAT!!!! MY COUNT AS OF TODAY I HAVE MADE 70LBS APPROX. I HAVE TO REPEAT MAKING THIS RECIPE SO OFTEN I HAVE LOST TRACK....EVERYONE I HAVE EVER GAVE A PIECE TO HAS GAVE THIS CANDY HIGH HIGH REMARKS...SO FOR THOSE WHO CAN'T MAKE THIS CANDY YOUR NOT FOLLOWING DIRECTIONS CORRECTLY.....AGAIN HATS OFF TO GRANDMA....THIS CANDY IS SUPER GREAT PEANUT BUTTER TASTING FUDGE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe. Tip: It took between 10-15 minutes on medium heat (about 10 of those were "rolling boil" minutes) before it reached the ball-forming stage (aka time to add the marshmallow and peanut butter). It set fast too; It looked like fudge by the time it was in the pan. :) I sprinkled chocolate chips over half the fudge as it cooled; They melt a bit but that makes it easier to cut the squares later. 'The only PB Fudge recipe I'll make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I don't know why but this recipe would not work for me and I really wanted it to. Determined, I attempted it 3 times. My first attempt I used the candy thermometer, removing it from the heat once the temperature reached soft ball stage. It never set up. The second time, I tried letting it boil for a full six minutes as was suggested by another reviewer. It never set up. I blamed the weather, it was rainy and unseasonably humid on the day I attempted it and have read this can definitely have an effect on fudge setting up. My 3rd attempt, the weather was dry and cold. I let the mixture boil for a full 8 minutes this time. It never set up. All 3 attempts ended up as a sugary sludge that found its way down my garbage disposal. My 4th attempt was another recipe that turned out perfectly on the first attempt. I really wanted this recipe to work. I have no idea what went wrong but one thing that I do know for sure is that I will never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJHufford
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
A Peanut Butter fudge that actually sets up and is not mushy and soft!!! Awesome peanut butter flavor and not too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This is good peanut better fudge-but MAKE SURE you reach atlease 240-slowly. My first batch was like caramel, and I cooked to 240, so the next batch I went up to 245- much better, but still does not get "hard" like I like my fudge. I used marshmallows as well- 28 reg sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This was the first time I ever made fudge & it came out delicious! I didn't have a thermometer so I burned it, but poured the hot mixture through a metal strainer & then poured it in the pan, it was perfect. Not too sugary, peanut butter is the predominant flavor. I did substitute half of the white sugar with brown sugar & used large marshmallows instead of marshmallow creme. I got a candy thermometer now & will definitely make this again! In fact, I think I will make some right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States