Grandma's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I followed directions TO THE LETTER! at 224 degrees, the pan started to boil OVER! The finished product was a VERY GOOD TASTING peanut butter SLUDGE! If someone could tell me what I did wrong, I'd be VERY GRATEFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Yum Yum Yum, i followed the directions with the exception i put a pinch of salt in the sugar, butter, and milk mixture and 1 tsp of vanilla with the peanut butter and fluff mixture...this is awesome, best peanut butter fudge i have ever had! Thanks so much for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is an excellent recipe for peanut butter fudge. It is my new official recipe. I cut the recipe amount in half and it made more than enough. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Did you forget the salt and vanilla in the recipe? I've never before seen a fudge recipe without a touch of salt and a splash of vanilla. [I added both, and the fudge turned out WONDERFUL!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I don't know why but this recipe would not work for me and I really wanted it to. Determined, I attempted it 3 times. My first attempt I used the candy thermometer, removing it from the heat once the temperature reached soft ball stage. It never set up. The second time, I tried letting it boil for a full six minutes as was suggested by another reviewer. It never set up. I blamed the weather, it was rainy and unseasonably humid on the day I attempted it and have read this can definitely have an effect on fudge setting up. My 3rd attempt, the weather was dry and cold. I let the mixture boil for a full 8 minutes this time. It never set up. All 3 attempts ended up as a sugary sludge that found its way down my garbage disposal. My 4th attempt was another recipe that turned out perfectly on the first attempt. I really wanted this recipe to work. I have no idea what went wrong but one thing that I do know for sure is that I will never attempt this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Hufford
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've never made fudge before but this recipe is so easy to do. DEBRAPRICE gave great advice about the temperature: "If you don't have a thermometer, just boil (med-low heat) for 6 minutes after boiling begins." The fudge turned out wonderful. I am definitely going to be using this recipe again! Edited to add: I have made this fudge many more times and just wanted to add a couple more things. I butter the pan and then place wax paper in it to make for easier cleanup. Also it is easier to get the fudge out. I have found that if I boil the mixture for 10 minutes it turns out a little more firm, just how my family loves it. Thanks again! Update (2/4/09): I bought a silicone pan and it has been a lifesaver! No more fussing with wax paper or greasing a pan. All you have to do is dump the fudge in the silicone pan (placed on a baking sheet for structure) and pop it in the fridge. It sets up perfectly. Once you're ready to cut it all you do is turn the silicone pan upside down and the big "block" of fudge easily comes out on it's own. It's so much easier this way, plus the fudge doesn't get mangled at all while cutting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Very good, but make sure you cut up servings in small pieces as this is VERY rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I have this recipe except it calls for 1 jar of peanut butter(18 ounces) and it is really good fudge. So easy to make. My advice is to have the baking dish lined with waxed paper or foil ready and have the marshmallow fluff, peanut butter and vanilla in the bowl so when you remove the milk/sugar mixture from the heat, you can just dump the fluff/peanut butter in the pan and get right to mixing it up quickly. You got to work fast and trying to scoop the fluff out of the jar is too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I cooked this fudge to 24O degree.I cooked it not long enough.It was too soft.I cut them after they cooled.Then I placed about 6 at a time in a corning wear white dish in the microwave to cook longer.I cooked 5 mins more.Stirring after each min.Stir alittle after you remove from microwave.Pour on a buttered plate.This will help it get harder.It will look like a peanut butter color.Taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I followed the directions and the fudge was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulcie Lassiter Holland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States