Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, however, it received 3 stars because if you follow the recipe exactly, the rings turn out very BLAND. We made this for the first time and after the first batch, had to make some immediate modifications. There was no flavor to the batter, so we added seasoning salt (tons), regular salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. Don't be afraid to season the dry mix AND egg mix. Also, we changed the dry mix to bisquik which made the batter much lighter and fluffier . The idea of this recipe is great and the core is great, just needed some modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
A light, delicious onion ring! My husband is gluten intolerant so I substituted gluten-free all purpose flour. Also, I have found over years of deep frying professionally that if you add salt before you deep fry, the flour has a tendancy to fall off, so I left the salt until after they were fried. Simple recipe, great taste, light and crisp--thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
we like this recipe so much.when we start to cook onion rings,we fill a big plate with it and eat till banging :) the only desadvantage of this meal is leftovers.i offer u to finish all at once when u cook coz next day all delicous taste dies.it becomes like sponge and non-crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Amazing - I was raised in the deep south and after following other suggestions, I found these to be better than any restaurant! Even my toughest critics couldn't stop raving about them. This is perhaps the best recipe on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe if you make a few of your own additions. I did as a some of the other reviews suggested and used Bisquick instead of flour. I also added a bit more salt and pepper, and threw in some Louisiana Cajun Seasoning. I also sliced the onions pretty thin - I like the more shoestring like onion rings. Oh my gosh, they were so so good. My husband, who doesn't even really like onion rings, ate himself silly. So did my 6 year old daughter. I can tell this will be a much requested recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plastic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
My husband found these a little bland, but they were great! I've tried a few of the other onion ring recipes on here, but this was by far the best! The batter stayed on the rings nicely when frying (the other recipes I tried were not nearly as cooperative! lol) I added a bit of garlic powder and dried parsley to the flour mixure, but next time I will add more. Maybe some cajun spices or something to give it a bit of a kick! Will definitely be making these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I'll give it five stars even though I made some changes. Great idea double dipping. I added a little sugar to the flour and used a whole egg rather than just the white. The onions were covered completely and were actually much prettier than those pictured but they didn't last long enough to take a picture! Yummmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was the recipe I have been searching for! I like the flaky onion rings vs. the cakey kind. The only thing I did differently was to add more spices. I added some season salt, garlic powder, onion powder and some cayenne pepper to give it a little kick. They were gobbled up fast! Even my 16 month old couldn't get enough, and he is a picky one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My hubby and I loved these onion rings! I did use Bisquick, instead of just flour, and also added Cajun Seasoning. The only thing I would suggest is.......after making the flour mixture....take half of it and put in a baggy to use later...BECAUSE...after dipping in the liquid, then the flour mixture TWICE.....the flour mixture starts to gum up..so you can throw that and use the other half.....we will be making these again soon! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Way to go Grandma! My husband loved this recipe - it's like something you'd get at a restaurant. Next time, I think I'll try replacing the white vinegar with natural apple-cider vinegar for extra tang. I don't have much experience with frying and did these in extra-virgin olive oil for a "healthier" version. I was happily surprised that there was no scorching at all with the lower-burning point oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States