Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
These were fantastic. Thank you for posting. First time cooking O rings and I look like a pro, and my kitchen smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I'll give it five stars even though I made some changes. Great idea double dipping. I added a little sugar to the flour and used a whole egg rather than just the white. The onions were covered completely and were actually much prettier than those pictured but they didn't last long enough to take a picture! Yummmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
My first attempt at onion rings--everyone raved. I did have some difficulty in keeping the batter from clumping to my hands though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
My husband found these a little bland, but they were great! I've tried a few of the other onion ring recipes on here, but this was by far the best! The batter stayed on the rings nicely when frying (the other recipes I tried were not nearly as cooperative! lol) I added a bit of garlic powder and dried parsley to the flour mixure, but next time I will add more. Maybe some cajun spices or something to give it a bit of a kick! Will definitely be making these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This batter was so great! It was easy and really quick. Plus you can add any spice you want to the dry ingredients, like garlic or onion powder. I will use this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was easy to prepare and simply delicious !!! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Hello, This is the 3rd onion ring recipe I've tried, this is the best! It is easy to make; double dipping will make the coating quite a bit thicker. I tried both and like single dipping; they are still totally coated but really crispy! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy! My first try at onion rings...I rarely fry any thing . These came out so nice, light and crispy, not greasy or spongey at all....lovely! I ran out of time doing them in batches so the last rings didn't get double-dipped...it was obvious, don't skip the double-dip =)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
These are soooo good...couldn't be better. I did most of them in a single-dip instead of double-dip in the batter & flour and they were just as good. Also, I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and instead of white flour, I used half brown rice flour and half spelt flour. I think next time, I'll use a smaller container for the flour, so it's easier to cover the rings w/ flour without handling them so much. Overall, excellent recipe! I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These turned out alright, not sure If I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States