Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Wonderful!! These were the perfect onion rings. The only changes I made was to add about a teaspoon of seasoned salt to the dry mixture and about 1/2 t to the wet. I used a blended peanut/safflower oil and they were light and flavorful. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I have used this recipe before and loved it! We get pre-sliced raw onions from a local BBQ place, and we never eat them, so I have started using them to make onion rings (no cutting the onion--what could be better???). I do add a sprinkling of Italian bread crumbs to the batter, but otherwise follow the recipe. Thanks so much for the post! Grandma + Southern = perfection! (: (: (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
i've made onion rings before but this is the best yet. i added some season salt- thats all. will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was the first onion ring recipe I have ever tried and they were sooo good. Light, crispy, and delicious! The only negative thing about this recipe is that mine came out very salty the first time, so I prepared the batter the same on my second try then I used sweet vidalia onions. The sweet onions tasted even better! Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Great! I added seasoning salt & garlic powder to the dry mix. I also didn't have enough of the flour mixture, you could probably double it. My husband (an onion ring fan) said they might have been the best onion rings he'd ever had. A bit messy to make (especially towards the end when the flour is getting clumpy) but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Crum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
We love these onion rings. Although I would double the flour and egg mixtures. The recipe didn't make nearly enough to cover 3 large onions! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Great recipe! I love onion rings and the batter turns out thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
ok-not much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, however, it received 3 stars because if you follow the recipe exactly, the rings turn out very BLAND. We made this for the first time and after the first batch, had to make some immediate modifications. There was no flavor to the batter, so we added seasoning salt (tons), regular salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. Don't be afraid to season the dry mix AND egg mix. Also, we changed the dry mix to bisquik which made the batter much lighter and fluffier . The idea of this recipe is great and the core is great, just needed some modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Excellent! Very close to the county fair onion rings that I look forward to each year. Husband loved too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States