Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Way to go Grandma! My husband loved this recipe - it's like something you'd get at a restaurant. Next time, I think I'll try replacing the white vinegar with natural apple-cider vinegar for extra tang. I don't have much experience with frying and did these in extra-virgin olive oil for a "healthier" version. I was happily surprised that there was no scorching at all with the lower-burning point oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Amazing - I was raised in the deep south and after following other suggestions, I found these to be better than any restaurant! Even my toughest critics couldn't stop raving about them. This is perhaps the best recipe on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I liked these, but my boyfriend said they were just ok. We both agreed they could use some more flavor. Next time, I'll add more salt and pepper, and maybe some garlic powder and cayenne. I also had to use more than 2 cups of flour to coat all the onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
this is the best thing ive made with onions i love it i love it and i will make it tmie and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Ilove onions but have never been a fan of onion rings. I had a ton of sliced onions left over from a picnick so decided to try this. They were great. My first batch were not as crispie as i would have liked( don't usually deep fry) so i lowered oil temp. and let 2nd batch cook a little longer. They came out much better. Thank you and because i ate so many i am going on a nice long walk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These were divine! Due to barley allergy, I used a blend of cornmeal and Arrowhead Mills white flour for the dry mix. I also added a packet of Splenda to the egg mix-this did not make it sweet, but added to the flavor. I sliced the onions thin, which made them light and crispy. I added some Old Bay to the dry mix, as well as a touch of basil. On the recommendation of another reviewer, I salted the rings after, instead of adding the salt to the mix. These onion rings are delicate and delicious and will be enjoyed frquently around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Easier than my other onion ring favorite recipe so this one wins, and the flavor is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
we like this recipe so much.when we start to cook onion rings,we fill a big plate with it and eat till banging :) the only desadvantage of this meal is leftovers.i offer u to finish all at once when u cook coz next day all delicous taste dies.it becomes like sponge and non-crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe if you make a few of your own additions. I did as a some of the other reviews suggested and used Bisquick instead of flour. I also added a bit more salt and pepper, and threw in some Louisiana Cajun Seasoning. I also sliced the onions pretty thin - I like the more shoestring like onion rings. Oh my gosh, they were so so good. My husband, who doesn't even really like onion rings, ate himself silly. So did my 6 year old daughter. I can tell this will be a much requested recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plastic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Simply AWESOME! Better than my favorite restaurants onion rings!! So good!! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States