Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I recently made these for my family of five and they couldn't get enough of them. I've had several requests to make more and more of them more often!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the advice of several different reviewers and added a little sugar, more salt and pepper, and cayenne pepper to the flour mixture. In addition, I chopped up a few small jalapeno peppers and added them into the flour mixture. The red and green pieces of pepper stuck nicely onto the onions and added a neat visual affect as well as that little extra kick when the rings were bit into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I tasted from the first batch and these were quite bland for our taste so added 1 tablespoon, yes, tablespoon of Cajun seasoning to the flour and it made a world of difference. Drain on a rack with paper towel beneath for a crispier end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
A very quick and easy to follow recipe. I would recommend more salt because the finished product was bland. Otherwise, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My whole family loved these! They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Okay-- not the healthiest food choice here but I have fond memories of all the local seafood restaurants we would enjoy growing up and onion rings would always be part of the meal. These were excellent. Chef Junior added a pinch of cajun spice to the batter and it added a nice kick. Must be enjoyed piping hot! These got gobbled up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe. My family loves it. I do season the flour mixture with some season salt and garlic powder as other suggested. Make sure you are ready to eat as soon as they are cooked. They get soggy fast. (They don't taste bad but the hot and crispy is the best)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
In a word, spectacular. The rings taste like those that we love at a local restaurant, a pizza place of all places, called Johnny Sortinos (Omaha, NE). This is the recipe I used to break in the new deep fryer, which I received as a Christmas gift. A few of the rings were a bit too hard, which probably had something to do with the temperature of the grease. Do note that the seasoning of the flour is a huge factor on the quality of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic recipe, I only added a little cajun seasoning to the flour and they were DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Tun

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Fantastic onion rings. We are onion ring experts around here and these pass the taste test. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States