Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Look no further......this is perfect! I wouldn't change one single thing. This method would work for almost any veggie/shrimp etc. I pre heated the oven to hold them as they cooked (drained on paper towels), till all were done. The impressive thing about this recipe is: they stayed crisp and didn't get soggy before all were eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My hubby and I loved these onion rings! I did use Bisquick, instead of just flour, and also added Cajun Seasoning. The only thing I would suggest is.......after making the flour mixture....take half of it and put in a baggy to use later...BECAUSE...after dipping in the liquid, then the flour mixture TWICE.....the flour mixture starts to gum up..so you can throw that and use the other half.....we will be making these again soon! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I did what other reviewers suggested and put more seasonings and salt in it. I also cut it into thirds and used apple cider vinegar. About halfway through prep, I ran out of the dry ingredients, but it was pretty simple, so it was pretty easy to throw some more salt and flour in there. I'm on the lookout for my favorite onion ring recipe right now, and this one will definitely be on the top of the list. They came out with a great crunch, great texture and the batter didn't come off while it was being poked at in the oil. Great base recipe to add your touch or flavor to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The batter was wonderful to work with -- it stayed on during the frying. After reading some reviews, I added almost a tsp. of cayenne to give it a kick. They were amazing and my husband told everyone that I rocked after I served these. I rated it a four since it needed more seasoning. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
These are soooooo good! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Super yummy. I altered the recipe so I could make it with one onion instead of three and it still turned out delicious. Also added a little italian seasoning for a more interesting taste. This was my first time frying onion rings and it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren6291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe for our family and we added a little cajun seasoning and they were a hit. Similiar taste and texture when compared to the old "Tookies" restaurant in Seabrook, Tx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I don't know if it was me, the onions I used, or the recipe, but the taste was awful and I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Love them. Don't double batter unless you double up on the onions too or you'll have a big hunk of breading and no onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I recently made these for my family of five and they couldn't get enough of them. I've had several requests to make more and more of them more often!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States