Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Delicious! These are wonderfully light and delicate. For once, I didn't feel like I was eating mostly batter--it really lets the taste of the onions shine through. My husband and son loved them--I will be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurt, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
We made with gluten-free flour and these were the best we'd ever had - very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
My husband is an onion ring fanatic and he gives them a "2 thumbs" up! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is just the type of onion ring recipe I have been looking for. These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Simple and Perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
the BEST onion rings i have ever had!!! two BIG thumbs up!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Excellent! Even my husband who doesn't like onions couldn't stop eating them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Theese are some really great Onion rings,I'm eatin some right now with some cola/bbq ribs.Thees go perfectly with ribs and there nice n crispy not to mention great tasting with or without ketchup!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
A light, delicious onion ring! My husband is gluten intolerant so I substituted gluten-free all purpose flour. Also, I have found over years of deep frying professionally that if you add salt before you deep fry, the flour has a tendancy to fall off, so I left the salt until after they were fried. Simple recipe, great taste, light and crisp--thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Absolutely wonderful recipe. Creates a great tasting old fashioned onion ring, and it is super quick too! You can have great onion rings without going to the fair and paying a small fortune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States