Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
These are soooo good...couldn't be better. I did most of them in a single-dip instead of double-dip in the batter & flour and they were just as good. Also, I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and instead of white flour, I used half brown rice flour and half spelt flour. I think next time, I'll use a smaller container for the flour, so it's easier to cover the rings w/ flour without handling them so much. Overall, excellent recipe! I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
These turned out alright, not sure If I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was a great recipe. The batter was light and crispy and combined with the sweet onion it was perfect. Nice snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe, great for an evening snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I was very pleased with this recipe. I thinly sliced my onion rings and used this recipe as my coating . It was so light and crisy. I will be using this recipe again. I added some cajun seasoning for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx2step31774

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
The perfect onion ring. My husband called them "restaurant quality." For a super-light crust only pass them through the egg and flour mixtures once. Really good and very crispy either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Wow, I have never had anything like these, they were great!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Delicious! Light and crispy and very savory. My first time making onion rings and they came out perfectly without having to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These were perfect - as is, didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was the recipe I have been searching for! I like the flaky onion rings vs. the cakey kind. The only thing I did differently was to add more spices. I added some season salt, garlic powder, onion powder and some cayenne pepper to give it a little kick. They were gobbled up fast! Even my 16 month old couldn't get enough, and he is a picky one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States