Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were very good. Light and crispy. I cut the rings thin rather than thick. The batter was crispy and light, not a heavy thick breading. What a mess this made, but was very good and I only needed 1 large Texas Sweet onion for 3 of us. Now a keeper in my recipe file, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
These were fantastic. Thank you for posting. First time cooking O rings and I look like a pro, and my kitchen smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I'll give it five stars even though I made some changes. Great idea double dipping. I added a little sugar to the flour and used a whole egg rather than just the white. The onions were covered completely and were actually much prettier than those pictured but they didn't last long enough to take a picture! Yummmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
My first attempt at onion rings--everyone raved. I did have some difficulty in keeping the batter from clumping to my hands though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
My husband found these a little bland, but they were great! I've tried a few of the other onion ring recipes on here, but this was by far the best! The batter stayed on the rings nicely when frying (the other recipes I tried were not nearly as cooperative! lol) I added a bit of garlic powder and dried parsley to the flour mixure, but next time I will add more. Maybe some cajun spices or something to give it a bit of a kick! Will definitely be making these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Advocate Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This batter was so great! It was easy and really quick. Plus you can add any spice you want to the dry ingredients, like garlic or onion powder. I will use this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was easy to prepare and simply delicious !!! Thank you for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Hello, This is the 3rd onion ring recipe I've tried, this is the best! It is easy to make; double dipping will make the coating quite a bit thicker. I tried both and like single dipping; they are still totally coated but really crispy! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Yummy! My first try at onion rings...I rarely fry any thing . These came out so nice, light and crispy, not greasy or spongey at all....lovely! I ran out of time doing them in batches so the last rings didn't get double-dipped...it was obvious, don't skip the double-dip =)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
These are soooo good...couldn't be better. I did most of them in a single-dip instead of double-dip in the batter & flour and they were just as good. Also, I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and instead of white flour, I used half brown rice flour and half spelt flour. I think next time, I'll use a smaller container for the flour, so it's easier to cover the rings w/ flour without handling them so much. Overall, excellent recipe! I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States