Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I liked these, but my boyfriend said they were just ok. We both agreed they could use some more flavor. Next time, I'll add more salt and pepper, and maybe some garlic powder and cayenne. I also had to use more than 2 cups of flour to coat all the onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
this is the best thing ive made with onions i love it i love it and i will make it tmie and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Ilove onions but have never been a fan of onion rings. I had a ton of sliced onions left over from a picnick so decided to try this. They were great. My first batch were not as crispie as i would have liked( don't usually deep fry) so i lowered oil temp. and let 2nd batch cook a little longer. They came out much better. Thank you and because i ate so many i am going on a nice long walk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These were divine! Due to barley allergy, I used a blend of cornmeal and Arrowhead Mills white flour for the dry mix. I also added a packet of Splenda to the egg mix-this did not make it sweet, but added to the flavor. I sliced the onions thin, which made them light and crispy. I added some Old Bay to the dry mix, as well as a touch of basil. On the recommendation of another reviewer, I salted the rings after, instead of adding the salt to the mix. These onion rings are delicate and delicious and will be enjoyed frquently around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Easier than my other onion ring favorite recipe so this one wins, and the flavor is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
we like this recipe so much.when we start to cook onion rings,we fill a big plate with it and eat till banging :) the only desadvantage of this meal is leftovers.i offer u to finish all at once when u cook coz next day all delicous taste dies.it becomes like sponge and non-crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe if you make a few of your own additions. I did as a some of the other reviews suggested and used Bisquick instead of flour. I also added a bit more salt and pepper, and threw in some Louisiana Cajun Seasoning. I also sliced the onions pretty thin - I like the more shoestring like onion rings. Oh my gosh, they were so so good. My husband, who doesn't even really like onion rings, ate himself silly. So did my 6 year old daughter. I can tell this will be a much requested recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plastic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Simply AWESOME! Better than my favorite restaurants onion rings!! So good!! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Unfortuantly, I didn't care for this recipe at all. It was very bland and bready, instead of crispy. I'd advise, if someone does like the bready type of onion rings, add some more spices to this to make it less bland. It was my first time making onion rings, and I was pretty excited about it...luckily, while grocery shopping, I bought a onion ring batter mix just in case I didn't find a recipe I liked. Sorry, but I just didn't find this recipe to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Wonderful!! These were the perfect onion rings. The only changes I made was to add about a teaspoon of seasoned salt to the dry mixture and about 1/2 t to the wet. I used a blended peanut/safflower oil and they were light and flavorful. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States