Grandma's Onion Rings (Southern Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
A very quick and easy to follow recipe. I would recommend more salt because the finished product was bland. Otherwise, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My whole family loved these! They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Okay-- not the healthiest food choice here but I have fond memories of all the local seafood restaurants we would enjoy growing up and onion rings would always be part of the meal. These were excellent. Chef Junior added a pinch of cajun spice to the batter and it added a nice kick. Must be enjoyed piping hot! These got gobbled up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe. My family loves it. I do season the flour mixture with some season salt and garlic powder as other suggested. Make sure you are ready to eat as soon as they are cooked. They get soggy fast. (They don't taste bad but the hot and crispy is the best)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
In a word, spectacular. The rings taste like those that we love at a local restaurant, a pizza place of all places, called Johnny Sortinos (Omaha, NE). This is the recipe I used to break in the new deep fryer, which I received as a Christmas gift. A few of the rings were a bit too hard, which probably had something to do with the temperature of the grease. Do note that the seasoning of the flour is a huge factor on the quality of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic recipe, I only added a little cajun seasoning to the flour and they were DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Fantastic onion rings. We are onion ring experts around here and these pass the taste test. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
One word: Delicious! I made these for my dad today, and he said they were just like how his own mother used to make them. He had almost forgotten about them, but now I know we'll be eating a lot of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Way to go Grandma! My husband loved this recipe - it's like something you'd get at a restaurant. Next time, I think I'll try replacing the white vinegar with natural apple-cider vinegar for extra tang. I don't have much experience with frying and did these in extra-virgin olive oil for a "healthier" version. I was happily surprised that there was no scorching at all with the lower-burning point oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Amazing - I was raised in the deep south and after following other suggestions, I found these to be better than any restaurant! Even my toughest critics couldn't stop raving about them. This is perhaps the best recipe on AllRecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States