Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
WHERE IN THE WORLD DID YOU GET MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE!!!!THESE WERE JUST LIKE THE ONES I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS LITTLE!!!!THANKS A MILLION!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
THIS IS THE OLD FAASHIONED RECIPE I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR. IT'S JUST GREAT. I'LL PASS IT ON TO MY KIDS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
The dough was crumbly at first which freaked me out, but once it was refrigerated it became firmer. Great cookies but don't let them overcook or they will break your teeth! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I don't usually care for sugar cookies, but I volunteered to bake 6 doz. for an event at my son's school. I tried 2 different recipes, and this one was awesome! I like nutmeg, so the flavor was perfect for me. If nutmeg isn't your thing, try substituting 2 tsp. of lemon, lime, or orange zest. Also, I added 3T of sour cream with the butter. It makes for very tender pastry. Since it's a fairly soft dough, chill as long as possible (I did overnight) so that you have to use a min. amount of flour for rolling. Better yet, roll between 2 sheets of waxed paper, remove the top sheet, cut the shapes without removing them, and put the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes to get them good and stiff again. They will pop out easily and the scraps can be re-rolled over and over since no flour was added in rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
One word describes these Tea Cakes "Delicious". Thanks Rhonda for this long sought after recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
My great aunt used to make teacakes. She died and did not leave us the recipe. My teacakes turned out great! Just like my aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
If this recipe is better after a couple days, be prepared to die with a smile. They are sinsational right of the cooling rack. I suggest using fresh ground nutmeg for that special mmm! I don`t think I`ll risk their getting better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've been looking for this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
These tasted absolutely fabulous! I wasn't able to use a very intricate cookie-cutter, due to the softness of the dough, but my teacakes were very impressive, on taste alone! I scaled the recipe to make 5 dozen, and used almond extract instead of vanilla. I passed them out to the other tennants of my 10-story office building as a halloween treat, and to introduce myself as their new neighbor. I'm positive I made a great first impression! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are wonderful! I used this recipe for Christmas cookies, & they were delicious. I really love the nutmeg. The dough is a little sticky, so be sure to refridgerate it & don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States