Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
My great aunt used to make teacakes. She died and did not leave us the recipe. My teacakes turned out great! Just like my aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
WHERE IN THE WORLD DID YOU GET MY GRANDMOTHER'S RECIPE!!!!THESE WERE JUST LIKE THE ONES I REMEMBER WHEN I WAS LITTLE!!!!THANKS A MILLION!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
THIS IS THE OLD FAASHIONED RECIPE I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR. IT'S JUST GREAT. I'LL PASS IT ON TO MY KIDS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I don't usually care for sugar cookies, but I volunteered to bake 6 doz. for an event at my son's school. I tried 2 different recipes, and this one was awesome! I like nutmeg, so the flavor was perfect for me. If nutmeg isn't your thing, try substituting 2 tsp. of lemon, lime, or orange zest. Also, I added 3T of sour cream with the butter. It makes for very tender pastry. Since it's a fairly soft dough, chill as long as possible (I did overnight) so that you have to use a min. amount of flour for rolling. Better yet, roll between 2 sheets of waxed paper, remove the top sheet, cut the shapes without removing them, and put the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes to get them good and stiff again. They will pop out easily and the scraps can be re-rolled over and over since no flour was added in rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Very good, used vanilla and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
If this recipe is better after a couple days, be prepared to die with a smile. They are sinsational right of the cooling rack. I suggest using fresh ground nutmeg for that special mmm! I don`t think I`ll risk their getting better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
These cookies are good . . . but ONLY if they are SOFT. Be sure to cook them only 8 min. They will continue baking as they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Another tip: I used Almond Extract instead of Vanilla (richer flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
The dough was crumbly at first which freaked me out, but once it was refrigerated it became firmer. Great cookies but don't let them overcook or they will break your teeth! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
One word describes these Tea Cakes "Delicious". Thanks Rhonda for this long sought after recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've been looking for this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States