Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are wonderful! I used this recipe for Christmas cookies, & they were delicious. I really love the nutmeg. The dough is a little sticky, so be sure to refridgerate it & don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I think that this is a great recipe. Everyone loved them, they taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
These tasted absolutely fabulous! I wasn't able to use a very intricate cookie-cutter, due to the softness of the dough, but my teacakes were very impressive, on taste alone! I scaled the recipe to make 5 dozen, and used almond extract instead of vanilla. I passed them out to the other tennants of my 10-story office building as a halloween treat, and to introduce myself as their new neighbor. I'm positive I made a great first impression! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've been looking for this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
One word describes these Tea Cakes "Delicious". Thanks Rhonda for this long sought after recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
The dough was crumbly at first which freaked me out, but once it was refrigerated it became firmer. Great cookies but don't let them overcook or they will break your teeth! ;}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
These cookies are good . . . but ONLY if they are SOFT. Be sure to cook them only 8 min. They will continue baking as they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Another tip: I used Almond Extract instead of Vanilla (richer flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOE123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
If this recipe is better after a couple days, be prepared to die with a smile. They are sinsational right of the cooling rack. I suggest using fresh ground nutmeg for that special mmm! I don`t think I`ll risk their getting better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Very good, used vanilla and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
I don't usually care for sugar cookies, but I volunteered to bake 6 doz. for an event at my son's school. I tried 2 different recipes, and this one was awesome! I like nutmeg, so the flavor was perfect for me. If nutmeg isn't your thing, try substituting 2 tsp. of lemon, lime, or orange zest. Also, I added 3T of sour cream with the butter. It makes for very tender pastry. Since it's a fairly soft dough, chill as long as possible (I did overnight) so that you have to use a min. amount of flour for rolling. Better yet, roll between 2 sheets of waxed paper, remove the top sheet, cut the shapes without removing them, and put the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes to get them good and stiff again. They will pop out easily and the scraps can be re-rolled over and over since no flour was added in rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States