Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Loved it, I made a slight addition, I add 1 tsp lemon extract in addition to 1 tsp vanilla, and I replace the butter with lard. To die for, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Love this cookie, easy to make a pleasure to eat!!! Crispy outside, chewy inside. Will be a repeat visitor to the cookie jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
These taste exactly like cornbread, and everyone that tasted them said so. I don't like cornbread, so I felt like a total failure after making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
These turned out really well. I made them at work so did not have real butter and then I found out there was no nutmeg so I substituted cinnamon. Next time I will use nutmeg! I mixed up the dough, doubling the recipe, and put it in the cooler til the next day. I did not roll out the dough, I used a small scooper and then just flattened out the ball of dough on the pan with my palm (wearing plastic gloves) they baked up well and everyone enjoyed them. Nice chewy cookie when you want something not so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I LOVE THESE OLD SOUTHERN DESSERTS. THEY BRING THE KID IN ME AND GOOD OLE MEMORIES. A TIP FOR THESE IS TO MAKE A COUPLE OF BATCHES AT A TIME AND FREEZE THEM.THEY WILL BE JUST IF YOU JUST BAKED THEM WHEN YOUR READY TO EAT THEM. I'M SINGLE AND THIS WAY IT SAVES ME TIME AND I STILL GET TO EAT HOME BAKED TEA CAKES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Honestly, I try not to leave bad reviews when my dislike is based on a difference in taste, but I did not care for this recipe at all. I was shocked with the results after all the glowing reviews. I followed the recipe to the letter and my result was a cookie that puffed after 5 minutes and ended flat, but fully cooked, after 8 min the oven. They had an odd overly egg-y flavor and an undesirable texture. I'm guessing, based on reviews, this is the type of cookie that awakens nostalgia rather than tastebuds. If you didnt grow up with your grandma baking this cookie, try a different recipe. I hate to waste so the only thing I can think to do with the rest of this dough is use it as a shell for a tart or a nutbar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is the recipe I have been looking for for 50 years. My grandmother used to make these when I was growing up, except during WWII she used lard instead of butter. I had forgoten the recipe and as soon as I saw this I know it was the one. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These are really good and easy,but just a little too sweet. Next time I will reduce the white sugar or try some brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I was afraid to try to knead this dough so I just put it in the fridge to chill. I could only wait about 5 minutes because I was so anxious to bake some. OMG I ended up eating the whole pan of cookies, again! I really can't taste the nutmeg but the cookies are fantastic. As usual I baked them on parchment paper and they were perfect. Light brown on the bottom and oh so tasty. Love, love, love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I am a caterer and was comissioned to do a southern ladies tea. The main request was for teacakes which I have never made but tasted a few times. This was the first recipe I came across and tried it today, the cookies are crisp on the outside and soft and chewy inside with a perfect amount of nutmeg. Just lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States