Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. It reminded me of my childhood when my grandma used to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These turned out really well! I made some for a potluck at my job and everyone loved them. As suggested by some of the other raters I made one batch with Almond extract and another using the Lemon, both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Thank you for uploading this recipe. I have been searching for one that taste like the tea cakes my grandmother used to make. This is the only one that suffice. Many of the other recipes I found contained too many ingredients. Although I was a child, I know my grandmother didn't use a slue of things, just simple everyday ingredients that were in her cabinets and refrigerator. I found the recipe last night and made the tea cakes/cookies today. They are wonderful. Filled with the aroma and taste of a rural southern childhood of long ago. I can't wait to send a batch to my siblings to get their reactions. The only problem I had was working with the dough. I'm not an expert on using a rolling pin. So, after allowing it to harden in the refrigerator, I just handled them as I would a cookie dough. I scooped a bit up in a ball and hand shaped them. What is funny is that the end results were all shapes and sizes, exactly like my nanna's. I guess she had a trouble working with her dough as well. Once again thank you, of all the recipes that I have found on this site. This is the one that is most dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate to spoil the great rating, but these are not quite the same taste as the elders in my family. The amount of nutmeg was only a hint and it leaves this tasting like a great butter cookie. Our family's recipe is more like a mini cookie cake. I wasn't sure how long to keep the dough refrigerated and after a few hours it was too hard to roll. After sitting out for 30 minutes it was ready. Keep the flour handy as you'll have to keep flouring your board and rolling pin unless you use wax paper on top and beneath the dough. This is great tasting dough and I think I preferred that over the actual cookie. Unfortunately, I'll have to keep searching for authentic tea cakes instead of these "cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe took me back to when I was a little girl growing up in Forrest City, Arkansas. Ms. Lucy (a grandma figure) used to baby sit me and she made tea cakes that looked and tasted JUST LIKE these! I am almost 50 years old and I've tried many tea cake recipes trying to recapture the taste and texture of Ms. Lucy's tea cakes. Until now, I was unsuccessful. These cookies are absolutely delicious!!!! Not only are they delicious, but I get to savor wonderful memories of Ms. Lucy reaching into airtight plastic container (an empty lard bucket LOL) and saying, "Sweetie, would you like a tea cake?" :). Many thanks to the person who shared this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Sorry, but these tasted like an eggy sugar cookie to me that was also too sugary. However, I divided the dough & added 1 teaspoon each of lemon zest & flavoring & that half was pretty good, but I don't think I'll save the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Perfect and decorate with grn red sugar at Christmas time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I am 62 year old and I've been looking for tis recipes for years. My father used to bake these and they were to die for. (my father was from Mississippi and loved to bake) Through the years I've been searching for this recipes and never found it. Then one day I decided to try again and that's when I hit "pay dirt" I ran across this one! Honey, honey when I read the ingredients I knew this was "the" one I had been searching for. As stated they taste even better a day or two later. I made two batches for Christmas and my daughters' friends came over and had never had the honour of tasting tea cakes. I don't have to tell you the results. This has been a big hit and also introducing the younger generations to a little of their history to them. Baking from scratch is almost a dying issue - but thanks to recipes like this one - there is hope. I was sooooo excited to find this I called my brother (who also loves to cook and bake) and we both were jumping on the outside as well as on the inside. The key to this recipe is the NUTMEG! That's what makes the unique flavoring. For those of you who are thinking of trying it- you won't go wrong! So for all of you ladies (oooops sorry- gentlemen who love to cook/bake) add this to your recipe box. Like others - make more than one batch (freeze in seperate bags) so when the urge hits, you can have a fresh batch of "cookies" anytime. I have a taste for some right now and I have all of the ingredients. I feel a bake on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These were great!! My husband said they tasted just like his grandmother use to make and mine as well. I had a little trouble getting them to get done, I was afraid of them burning per the other reviews saying they would "break your teeth" if overcooked. Mine may have been a little too thick, but I took them out when they got light brown on the bottom They were still chewy in the middle this morning!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I've noticed that people are complaining that this is a very bland sugar cookie. The thing is, tea cakes are NOT necessarily sugar cookies. Sugar cookies are meant to be iced and eaten alone, tea cakes like this are meant to be dipped in tea or coffee. While the people I gave this as gifts to said they loved these just plain, they enjoyed them far more once dipped in tea or coffee. These cookies absorb most of their flavor from what they're dipped in, so keep that in mind when you make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States