Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I am a 13 year old who loves to try new things. I wanted to have a tea party with my 2 little sisters so I tried these. The flavor was GREAT! I did use almond extract as its flavor is more stronger and It is my favorite flavoring. They had a great texture and were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside! great recipe! I would diffinatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I enjoyed these tea cakes. This my first time making it. I liked the simplicity of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband has been wanting me to find a good recipe for tea cakes like his Mother made. This recipe was it! I even made them with self rising flour & omitted the salt and soda, and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Just what I was searching for! To those who have had rolling pin issues, try this. Rather than rolling outward, which will often cause your dough to crack, roll along the edges, more TOWARD the center than away from it. It is the weight of the rolling pin that thins the dough. Rolling along the edges, inward is less likely to tear your dough. Also, while this type of dough needs to be chilled before rolling, it cannot be TOO cold or, again, it will tear. Persuade your dough with the rolling pin. No fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I stepped up to the challenge to make tea cakes for my husband that would be as good as his ex mother in law's were, fully expecting my first few attempts to fail. I looked at a few recipes and decided to try this one. He says I nailed it!! Thank you! They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
i made these teacakes they were off the chain my family love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cov1963
Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. It reminded me of my childhood when my grandma used to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
These turned out really well! I made some for a potluck at my job and everyone loved them. As suggested by some of the other raters I made one batch with Almond extract and another using the Lemon, both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Thank you for uploading this recipe. I have been searching for one that taste like the tea cakes my grandmother used to make. This is the only one that suffice. Many of the other recipes I found contained too many ingredients. Although I was a child, I know my grandmother didn't use a slue of things, just simple everyday ingredients that were in her cabinets and refrigerator. I found the recipe last night and made the tea cakes/cookies today. They are wonderful. Filled with the aroma and taste of a rural southern childhood of long ago. I can't wait to send a batch to my siblings to get their reactions. The only problem I had was working with the dough. I'm not an expert on using a rolling pin. So, after allowing it to harden in the refrigerator, I just handled them as I would a cookie dough. I scooped a bit up in a ball and hand shaped them. What is funny is that the end results were all shapes and sizes, exactly like my nanna's. I guess she had a trouble working with her dough as well. Once again thank you, of all the recipes that I have found on this site. This is the one that is most dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I hate to spoil the great rating, but these are not quite the same taste as the elders in my family. The amount of nutmeg was only a hint and it leaves this tasting like a great butter cookie. Our family's recipe is more like a mini cookie cake. I wasn't sure how long to keep the dough refrigerated and after a few hours it was too hard to roll. After sitting out for 30 minutes it was ready. Keep the flour handy as you'll have to keep flouring your board and rolling pin unless you use wax paper on top and beneath the dough. This is great tasting dough and I think I preferred that over the actual cookie. Unfortunately, I'll have to keep searching for authentic tea cakes instead of these "cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States