Grandma's Old Fashioned Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
What did I do wrong? Mine are so thin and crispy. I followed direction so I just don't see what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
These were a big hit at a recent tea party. I followed the directions made no variations. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
if you are looking for a southern teacake recipe with a different texture from a typical cookie with only a light sweetness, then this recipe is not what you are looking for. It was too sweet for me as a teacake. As a sugar cookie, it tastes fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These cookies were amazing. I have been looking for recipes using nutmeg that wasn't apple pie and these hit the spot. Can't wait to make them for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Snapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I love tea cakes and this recipe doesn't need any altering. The nutmeg was perfect. I have so much dough leftover, I put the remaining in the fridge and bake as desired. I don't use a cookie cutter either I rolled it into a 1in ball using my hands and flatten it out on the cookie sheet. Came out great! I will be baking these for work tomorrow, can't wait! Awesome just awesome! If you never tried tea cakes this is the one to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was O.K. They tasted more like sugar cookies than tea cakes. There is nothing like good moist tea cake that has been sitting in a plastic bag for a day or two. I don't think I would use this recipe again. IF, and only IF I make these tea cakes again, I would use less flour and add either lemon juice or lemon extract in the place of vanilla. I am from the South, and these tea cakes aren't something that you would normally find but they are not bad. Southern tea cakes are really moist and when you bite into it you can taste the moist lemon and vanilla flavors. I also feel there wasn't enough nutmeg in it. But that's pretty much it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Robshel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobertEarl
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a good tea cake! I doubled the baking time and the bottoms were barely brown. (They didn't turn into rocks as I feared from some of the other reviews.) I used fresh ground nutmeg, and the hint of flavor is perfect. I might be brave enough to share the next batch with the ladies at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
AVERY FRIENDLY COOKIE RECIPE NOT HARD AT ALL.BUT IT CARRIES IT FLAVORS WELL. MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY HUSBAND ,HE HAS BEEN TALKING BOUT TEA CAKE COOKIES FOR 18 YRS TOO ME , HIS MOM MADE THEM WHEN HE WAS A BOY.THERE ARE SO MANY VERSIONS OF THIS RECIPE.BUT I GOT THE OK FROM HIM ,THEY MAY NOT BE EXACTLY HOW HIS MOM MADE THEM, BUT THEY WOULD SURELY PASS .SO TO ME .IM FINF WITH THAT,FOR NOW,THE REMAINDER OF THE DOUGH IS STORED IN FREEZER.FOR WHENEVER HE WANT ONE.. THANK YOU SO MUCH.LYNN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turtle
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My first batch of these, baked for 13 minutes and cooled on the pan for 5 were still a little undercooked. I had followed the advice on rolling them out without extra flour, and I think they were a little too wet. My second batch, I forgot were in the oven and ended up cooking for about 25 minutes. I just took them off the pan immediately and they were perfect. Whatever the case with the baking time, though, the result is quite tasty, with a delicate sweet flavor, and a nice soft and slightly chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are great as a sugar cookie. The ones that my Mother & Grandmother use to make wasn't as sweet as these are. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States