Grandma's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were delicious! I always use old fashioned oats instead of quick oats in my cookie recipes and it prevents them from being too "cakey". I might try to make them with chocolate chips next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOCOMARIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made these cookies a few days ago, and followed the recipe exactly, except I used traditional oats instead of instant, and added about 6 teaspoons of honey for the heck of it. They smelled great while cooking, but the final result was more like oatmeal bread than cookies. I can understand why other users said they came out "cakey". My family told me to cut back on the flour next time and to add more raisins, so I'll probably use half the amount of flour and double the raisins. Overall, it's a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These cookies are very yummy and very easy to make. I substituted chocolate chips for raisins ( I used 6 TBS of plain water to sub the raisin water) and they turned out amazing!! I will definately be making these cookies again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
The best oatmeal cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I'd have to say this recipie almost has it. I was looking at the picture trying to figure out why the edges had gone flush with the pan and burned, so I tried this recipie. Turns out the dough is too sticky. I had to add another half cup of oats. Oatmeal cookies should be sticky, but should not 'melt' in the oven. I also added baking powder for a fluffier oatmeal cookie, and substituted walnuts for raisons. I also cut the white sugar in half and added brown sugar, as is customary in oatmeal cookies. I think the original recipie functions more like 'drop' cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
very yummy, quite fluffy and more 'cakey' than 'biscuity', i added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 teaspoon extra cinammon and they are delicious! and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
sasa brought them in to school today they are the lushest things eva!!! especialy since Sasa made she is a great cook you have got to try these they are sooooooo nice but just make sure you dont over cook them otherwise you will bake all the moisture out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
fantastic, at school my friends fought over crumbs and begged for the recipe but i prefer it without raisins! To avoid it getting it too cakey use more oats and less flour or whole oats instead of quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
Living In: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
It was easy to make but I ended up adding more sure after the first batch came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allis
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe. I don't like raisins but this recipe smelled so good during prep that I had to try the finished product and it turned out wonderfully! MMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States