Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My cake turned out OK. The batter tasted SOOO GOOD, I was expecting the baked version to taste better than it did. My cake was a little grainy (?) and just didn't taste like much. Very light, fluffy, and crumbly. I wonder if adding a box of pudding mix would help make it more flavorful and just a bit more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this cake!!!! I got this tip from a navy cook to add Greek yogurt to get it even more moist (I added a small $1 cup from Wal-Mart). I was so surprised because I struggle in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalisa Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty and moist cake. I used regular flour and just added the baking powder and salt. I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar since I don't like my cakes super sweet and I added orange zest to the mix. I have dozens of tried cake recipes in my files and I will be adding this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! It's simple but produces a lovely, buttery, VERY moist & delicious cake. I'm a cake designer and I have tried lots of recipes and this is my new "go to" yellow cake recipe. Not only is it delicious but it is nice and sturdy and will hold up to fondant nicely. I paired it with a small amount of my whipped buttercream icing and fresh strawberry filling. (But great without icing as well) Perfect! My Thanks to Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina LeGrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shante Chambliss
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My 3 year old daughter made this cake recipe with my assistance. But OMG it is so Moist & So Yummy..!!! We will be making it again but as cupcakes next time..!!! Thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante Chambliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceyanne1220
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was excellent! I made it for my sons first birthday and he really loved it! I followed the recipe to a T, receipt I only used 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract as opposed to a tablespoon. it was delicious and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe. I've been trying for years to find a recipe that didn't taste like cardboard. This recipe is easy and delicious. I actually made a marble cake with this and it turned out to be the best tasting cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I made cupcakes and wow!They baked beautifully, perfectly moist and DELICIOUS! Didn't have self rising flour, used all purpose flour I converted. Simple, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I tried this recipe as a cupcake and unfortunately with it being in my oven for about 5 to 7 minutes they ended up burning on the outside of the cupcake. Wish I could give this recipe a zero but there is no option for that. I followed the directions to the exact and the burning was the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States