Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Really Good! I didn't have self-rising flour so I looked up how to convert All Purpose and I found that for each cup of all-purpose flour, you are supposed to decrease the amount by 2 teaspoons and then add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I sifted the flour first (a good tip to make a lighter cake), and once the mixture was the pans I dropped each pan onto the counter a few times to get out the air, and to prevent the dreaded dome shape. These took 25 minutes to finish baking in my oven. They are light and delicious, and a good basic yellow cake recipe for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I must disagree with some of the other reviewers: this cake came out incredibly moist, and perfect! I'm a lousy baker(who tries hard)who tends to get dry cakes even with so-called 'foolproof' boxed mixes; I'm not sure why this worked so well, but it's certainly simple, and it was so delicious one of the layers didn't last long enough to be iced--it was devoured by us right out of the oven. I used 2 9" round pans, and that was a perfect fit, too. We have a 55 year old, tempramental, uneven stove and it took 25 minutes; if I'd used a box or another recipe I'm sure the layers would have been fried-but these were light and fluffy. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Very rich, moist, and buttery. I beat the butter and sugar together for a good 5 minutes and whipped the egg whites separately before folding them in. I also added a dash of salt and baking powder to the flour. The resulting cake was wonderful with or without frosting. A good, basic recipe. I'm by no means an experienced baker, but I was very pleased with the results. I'm keeping this one! One note of caution - the cake comes out on the heavy side. It is not light and fluffy like the boxed mixes. If you appreciate a thicker, more pound-cake like texture, then you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This recipe was awesome! When I made the cake it tasted great, I got nothing but compliments from the 12 people who tasted it. I served it with buttercream icing. The cake didn't live to see three days. I used regular flour instead of self rising, but I just took out 5 teaspoons of flour out and replaced it with 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder and 2 1/2 teaspoons of salt. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Hubs and I agree - this is excellent. It's quick and simple to mix up but that isn't even its strongest selling point. It's beautiful, rises nicely, not too sweet, and refreshingly moist for a yellow cake. Supports a rich, sweet frosting well. I made this as cupcakes, baking about 20 minutes, and frosted them with White Cake Frosting II, also from this site. This will, for sure, be one to go back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
DELECTABLE! This cake was moist, fluffy, and delicious. I frosted it with chocolate fudge buttercream frosting, and everyone loved it (including me). It was completely demolished in less than two days! I am so happy I found this recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I was very enthusiastic about this cake because of the excellent ratings it received. Since my cakes are always coarse and grainy, I figured even I couldn't ruin this recipe. Initally, it was dry and coarse. My 2nd try produced a slightly better texture. On the 3rd try, I switched to the "One bowl, quick method." I put all my dry ingredients in the bowl first then added the butter and a little liquid;throughly mixed the batter. Then added the eggs, flavoring and remaining liquid. That did the trick. I acheived the texture that I wanted, moist and velvety. As for the flavor, my family raved over it, even on the 1st two tries when it was coarse and dry. I thought the flavor was just okay. It is a good basic cake recipe and I will use it again, though I agree with Susan, it is not the perfect cake recipe. I will continue my search. Thank you for sharing this recipe, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I was not impressed with this recipe. I used it to make cupcakes for my daughter, and the cupcakes all shrunk up after being taken out of the oven. Beside for that, the flavor was quite bland. I would much rather use a boxed cake mix (and yes, I used self-rising flour). I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
It was light moist and you can definetely taste the butter. the cake had a nice rich taste and would go well with fresh unsweeteened cream. it is good enough without any icing. i added slices of fresh nectarines and buried them through the cake before putting it in the oven. you can use apricots, plums, peaches or apples. yum !!!!will be using this cake for a base for bithday cakes in the future !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
A great cake! It was quite easy to make. I think that this is probably the recipe to use for beginning bakers, or those who are graduating from cake mixes. I never use cake mixes, so I'm glad to have a simple recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States