Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My daughter made this by herself for dad's b-day. Fantastic cake. She used cake flour and added a bit of salt and baking powder. Seemed a bit sweet might cut down on sugar a little. Excellent with Chcoolate Fudge Buttercream recipe. Neighbors loved it will use again and make it a choclate cake or banana cake!! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy basic 2 layer cake. Put a mascarpone frosting and strawberry layer in the middle and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The flavor of this recipe was amazing. We ate at least 2 cupcakes before I could even get them iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this cake and I didn't change anything. I used it for a strawberry shortcake, it turned out great and did not dry out in the fridge. My sister called me a cake genius. It does remind me more of a sponge cake though. It's very light and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I just made this cake, and I like it... mostly. I didn't have an self-rising flour, so I used the substitute, however, the cake still rose very little. The two layers I made were very flat (I used 9" pans), which is a shame because so many ingredients went into the cake. However, the scraps that I've tasted are yummy and it smells good, so I hope that the flatness is my only problem. I am disappointed by the height, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This cake is fantastic! My kids and I made it and they loved it. I did do a few things differently that was recommended by a viewer (Mandy W) in another yellow cake recipe. She recommended using cake flour and when you measure it, sift the flour into the measuring cup and then level it off (this makes the cake more dense). She then also suggested creaming the butter, sugar & flour together then pour in the milk/egg mixture. Also the cold ingredients should be at room temp when using. I din't have cake flour so I looked up how to substitute it, and it says to every 1 cup of cake flour, use 1 cup of unbleached plain (all purpose) flour and then take 2 tablespoons out. I also ended up baking the cake in 2 round tins and freezing one. I also had a little trouble with timing too, I think because I only used 2 cake tins, so it took longer than the 15-20mins stated. I also left it plain as it didn't need icing. It came out moist and dense, just as I was hoping. I may try it using self raising flour next time to compare the difference. Will definitely bake again and am even thinking of using this for my sons birthday cake. Thank you for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This cake was really moist and delicious. It was a extra sweet, which was good for me because I made it for a sweet tooth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This cake was good and very easy. I had all the ingredients on hand. I didn't change anything. Made 3 cakes which cooked for about 20 minutes. Served with a carmel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Excellent cake...it was moist and dense! Just what you expect from a butter cake! I made it for my sister's birthday and everyone raved, there wasn't a piece left. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I just made this cake. I thought the recipe looked very familiar to me so I compared it to a family recipe that I have had for over 45 years. I was so curious, I just had to bake it to compare the two. I totally agree with the reviewer who said she would not call this a "Yellow" cake. It is definitely "NOT" your typical "Yellow" cake. It is actually a "Sponge" cake. It is very similiar to the recipe I have had for 45 years: "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake", and my recipe is truly over 150 years old too! There are just very minor differences between the two recipes. However, the texture and the tastes are very similar. "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake" does have this one beat a bit as far as taste is concerned (I have had strangers call me up and beg me for the recipe once they have tasted it at a gathering or so). But the two are very similar. This is one you could share with others (if you are one that likes to keep your special recipes to yourself)in place of let's say "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake. The thing to remember is this is a "Sponge" cake and not a regular "Yellow" cake - the texture will be more coarse then a regular "Yellow" cake - but the taste is exceptional. One can eat it alone, like cornbread, one doesn't even need to ice the cake. I use "Lou Ella's Cake" as a Strawberry Shortcake in the summers - this one can be used for that too. Just put the batter in a 9" x 13" pan. Put your strawberries in their juices on top of the cake after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From The Land Of Shee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States