Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
BEAUTIFUL! i followed the recipe exactly and it was moist and delicious with chocolate frosting i found on here. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunset
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is the best cake recipe ever the cake can be used for so many outlets in cake i made a strawberry short cake of this and belive me you can't stop eatting it thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Ok. I had to adjust this just a bit for high altitude. I added 1 T of milk and raised the temp to 375. Otherwise, I made it per the recipe. This was very good, but SOOO sweet! Too sweet, I think. The next time I make it, I will cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My daughter made this by herself for dad's b-day. Fantastic cake. She used cake flour and added a bit of salt and baking powder. Seemed a bit sweet might cut down on sugar a little. Excellent with Chcoolate Fudge Buttercream recipe. Neighbors loved it will use again and make it a choclate cake or banana cake!! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yummy basic 2 layer cake. Put a mascarpone frosting and strawberry layer in the middle and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The flavor of this recipe was amazing. We ate at least 2 cupcakes before I could even get them iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this cake and I didn't change anything. I used it for a strawberry shortcake, it turned out great and did not dry out in the fridge. My sister called me a cake genius. It does remind me more of a sponge cake though. It's very light and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I just made this cake, and I like it... mostly. I didn't have an self-rising flour, so I used the substitute, however, the cake still rose very little. The two layers I made were very flat (I used 9" pans), which is a shame because so many ingredients went into the cake. However, the scraps that I've tasted are yummy and it smells good, so I hope that the flatness is my only problem. I am disappointed by the height, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This cake is fantastic! My kids and I made it and they loved it. I did do a few things differently that was recommended by a viewer (Mandy W) in another yellow cake recipe. She recommended using cake flour and when you measure it, sift the flour into the measuring cup and then level it off (this makes the cake more dense). She then also suggested creaming the butter, sugar & flour together then pour in the milk/egg mixture. Also the cold ingredients should be at room temp when using. I din't have cake flour so I looked up how to substitute it, and it says to every 1 cup of cake flour, use 1 cup of unbleached plain (all purpose) flour and then take 2 tablespoons out. I also ended up baking the cake in 2 round tins and freezing one. I also had a little trouble with timing too, I think because I only used 2 cake tins, so it took longer than the 15-20mins stated. I also left it plain as it didn't need icing. It came out moist and dense, just as I was hoping. I may try it using self raising flour next time to compare the difference. Will definitely bake again and am even thinking of using this for my sons birthday cake. Thank you for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This cake was really moist and delicious. It was a extra sweet, which was good for me because I made it for a sweet tooth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States