Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The best white cake that I've made from scratch. Thank goodness something other than a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Good tasting cake, but not moist at all. It is more dry and crumbly than I expected. The problem is that the recipe calls for all butter, not a butter/oil combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
very moist- but also very crumbly! When i tried to take it out of the pans, one cracked in half, one cracked in quarters, and one had a big hole in the middle! Will make again, but with my own adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I was very disappointed in this cake. It seemed to have a texture that reminded me of cornbread. I believe the problem is the excess baking powder used in self-rising flour. Using cake flour with the same amount of baking powder yields similiar results. I'll stick with my own recipe which uses only 1 tsp baking soda and has a higher moisture to flour ratio. I am giving it two stars because some of my co-workers seemed to like it despite the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bizzyb
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
i love this recipe! it's SO easy! one bowl, less mess! i like to beat the mixture for a long time so it's smooth. i used eva amber's comment to sub self rising flour w. all purp. flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzyb
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is the second time I've used this recipe and the cake has turned out great both times. It's pretty easy to make and tastes much better than the box mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This cake was PERFECT! So light and fluffy, moist and not too sweet. I made cupcakes with this recipe, and they turned out wonderfully! I did sift the flour, so maybe that helped my results. SO much better than a box cake! Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Do not use 2 9" pans! I did that and they overflowed - huge mess in the oven! Otherwise, the cake was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was looking for a yellow cake to go with a great chocolate frosting that I got from this site and I didn't have self-rising flour so I took a review from (Jessica) for self-rising flour and me and my family feel that it was to much salt. So I have to make again using the correct measurement for self-rising flour...looking for 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I followed the directions as given except that I used all purpose flour (plus salt and baking soda) and I used a bundt pan. The cake baked for about 33 minutes, it had started to pull away from the side of the pan just a tiny bit. I cooled it on a cooling rack for 5-10 min and then flipped it out, only a tiny section stuck. Overall, the cake tastes good! I feel it is more of a sponge cake than a yellow cake. It is very moist, so moist it breaks apart when cutting the cake. The cake does not need frosting, but we covered it in chocolate ganache anyway, which was a very yummy :-) Overall, nice cake recipe! I would make it again, the kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States