Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Can't think of a better yellow cake recipe. The only change I made was to make my own self-rising flour using Eva Amber's recipe (found above in her review).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
The cake recipe was fairly good. I would recommend using 3 eggs instead of 4, however, because it comes out veeeeeery spongy in the too-much-egg-makes-the-cake-rubbery sort of way. The flavor was a little lacking, but an extra bit of vanilla extract helped that by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
So moist and good. I added a baked beet that I had. I blended the beet with the milk and added it to the cake. It came out soooo good. Looked like a red velvet cake with natural food coloring. And the beet added a special taaste. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made this for 2 teenage boys in cupcake form. They have bottomless pits and eat a couple daily. Awesome recipe, going to make it again, tonight! They can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
'Still in the oven ... 'Has to be 1 tsp vanilla, right? Maybe 1.5 tsp. Uncooked batter looked "normal." In the oven, not - bumpy around the pan edges, small bubbles in the middle I hope I haven't dirtied three cake pans, mixing bowl & beaters for nothing. This is an odd little cake! It doesn't brown like a regular cake. It looks underdone, but it isn't. 'Has a little sugar edge that sticks to the pan, which means too much sugar. This is not a typical cake. It's too lightcolored & textured. 'Still haven't tried it, it's cooling; but it's reminding me of a mix - too fluffy, too sweet - by appearance anyway. Tried it & this is a sponge cake. That's why it doesn't brown too much more than the inside. It made pretty layers (with there being little variation in color & size). The dry "thing": It will be dry if you bake it waiting for it to brown & yes, it could use more butter/shortening/oil considering there are 3 layers (or extralarge eggs will dry, too). 'Made this to use up a large amount of frosting. It did, but the cake wasn't anything special - except to look at. One more note: K said she liked it - except that it had too much frosting. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Ok...this was not at all moist. This was extremely dry. I was hoping that because it was so simple to make that it would've tasted yummy. But it didn't. Won't be making this again. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I am not sure what went wrong. I chose this recipe do to the positive reviews. I followed everything to the T but the middle of my cake sank? I live in CA so high altitude is not he issue. My self rising flour was new. The only thing I can think of is perhaps I could have over beaten the eggs and sugar? I used a small hand held mixer. Can one of you bakers shed some light on what the heck went wrong? Thanks in advanced. I would like to bake a cake like the box method. That would be ideal! dropped in the middle from Sunny Cali
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake batter turned into a very moist, rich, buttery and delicious cake. It did turn out a little more like a pound cake but was perfect like that. I added apples and cinnamon to the batter before baking and it did not even need any icing...very, very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H3ATH3R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
WOW!!! Best yellow cake ever! The key to this recipe is to take your time. It will come out perfect and spongy. I had to bake mine 25 minutes and it took about 35 mins to prepare. The perfection is in following the directions exactly. Be sure to cream your butter and sugar together completely before adding eggs; and as the recipe asks, make sure you fully beat each egg into the mix one at a time. Then I added my milk and vanilla and again beat until completely integrated and smooth. I mixed the flour in by parts and the batter was as smooth as silk. I used this recipe to make cupcakes and they were awesome! Goes great with a simple cream cheese butter cream icing. Warm the icing to a smooth ribbon finish and you can dip the cupcakes in, twirl and remove quickly to create a smooth glaze instead of a thick frosting. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious cake! Warning: I followed a recommendation that two 9" cake pans would work just as well...batter all over the oven; I don't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States