Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used regular flour and forgot to add the salt and baking powder. The result was a delicious cake with a sponge like texture. It wasn't as moist as I was expecting, but I baked it in cupcake pans and for longer than the recipe stated because they just didn't seem done. I'm sure this is because they were denser than they were supposed to be due to my lack of leavening. They were a huge hit. I am about to make them again, this time adding baking powder and salt. I'm expecting a delicious result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I can hardly bake - this cake makes me a pro! Thaaaaank you - it's exactly the flavour and texture which we allll crave in our household. Possibly, hands - down the best vanilla cake. So uncomplicated!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
It's super moist!! However I can taste the eggs so was wondering if anyone had the same problem ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is an excellent cake recipe! It mixes weird but cooks up great! I did notice that in my 6" rounds there was a weird divot, about the size of a half dollar, in the bottom of all of them. I don't know if this was a baker issue or a recipe issue but nothing I can't work with. Plus it taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I try to follow a new recipe by the directions to at least see how it turns out. I did add a pinch of salt to the recipe, as I was taught by my grandmother to do this since I was a Child. This cake is extremely moist and easy to frost and decorate-it is a keeper in my recipe box now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgraham2

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Recipe was great, i made a few minor changes to recipe. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder, and i removed 5 teaspoons of flour. I also used half cup of buttermilk and half cup of 1% milk.. Everything else i followed.. The cake was very moist... My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kngreen1105
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great easy recipe. Very light, but moist. It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
It was not the best. Just ok. Not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Mine turned out as sort of a cornbread/cake concoction in taste. Other than that, it was fluffy and fairly moist (though, it is quite delicate, so careful when handling)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Yummo - delicious!!!! So easy - used electric beaters to combine everything - so light and fluffy - just a beautiful recipe - my husband and I both love it love it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States