Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Just finish making this cake. Made it just the way you said and it came out perfect.I will make this one again. Next ttime I'm invited to a gathering I will make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! It's very hard to find a white/yellow cake that is this moist. The flavor is delicious also. I've used it several times and it's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved how simple it was to put together the ingredients. However, for some odd reason my butter melted and it was barely softened and the batter became watery. Maybe it's my location not sure or my kitchen aid. However the taste was there and they ended up coming out okay and will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe. Mixed it all by hand as don't have an electric mixer at the moment and it still came out light and moist. I reduced the sugar a little but could have made it a whole half cup less. I thought the mixture was rather runny when I used all the milk mixture but resisted the temptation to add more flour (thank goodness). Will definitely return to this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was ok. Reminded me of cornbread more than cake. The Batter's consistency was more like cookies than a cake. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is terrible.....it has been in the oven for 35 minutes and is still liquid in the center....I went back and looked to see if I left something out, but I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used regular flour and forgot to add the salt and baking powder. The result was a delicious cake with a sponge like texture. It wasn't as moist as I was expecting, but I baked it in cupcake pans and for longer than the recipe stated because they just didn't seem done. I'm sure this is because they were denser than they were supposed to be due to my lack of leavening. They were a huge hit. I am about to make them again, this time adding baking powder and salt. I'm expecting a delicious result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I can hardly bake - this cake makes me a pro! Thaaaaank you - it's exactly the flavour and texture which we allll crave in our household. Possibly, hands - down the best vanilla cake. So uncomplicated!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
It's super moist!! However I can taste the eggs so was wondering if anyone had the same problem ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is an excellent cake recipe! It mixes weird but cooks up great! I did notice that in my 6" rounds there was a weird divot, about the size of a half dollar, in the bottom of all of them. I don't know if this was a baker issue or a recipe issue but nothing I can't work with. Plus it taste fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States