Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This cake was really moist and delicious. It was a extra sweet, which was good for me because I made it for a sweet tooth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le12ahw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This cake was good and very easy. I had all the ingredients on hand. I didn't change anything. Made 3 cakes which cooked for about 20 minutes. Served with a carmel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Excellent cake...it was moist and dense! Just what you expect from a butter cake! I made it for my sister's birthday and everyone raved, there wasn't a piece left. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I just made this cake. I thought the recipe looked very familiar to me so I compared it to a family recipe that I have had for over 45 years. I was so curious, I just had to bake it to compare the two. I totally agree with the reviewer who said she would not call this a "Yellow" cake. It is definitely "NOT" your typical "Yellow" cake. It is actually a "Sponge" cake. It is very similiar to the recipe I have had for 45 years: "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake", and my recipe is truly over 150 years old too! There are just very minor differences between the two recipes. However, the texture and the tastes are very similar. "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake" does have this one beat a bit as far as taste is concerned (I have had strangers call me up and beg me for the recipe once they have tasted it at a gathering or so). But the two are very similar. This is one you could share with others (if you are one that likes to keep your special recipes to yourself)in place of let's say "Lou Ella's 150+ Year Old Sponge Cake. The thing to remember is this is a "Sponge" cake and not a regular "Yellow" cake - the texture will be more coarse then a regular "Yellow" cake - but the taste is exceptional. One can eat it alone, like cornbread, one doesn't even need to ice the cake. I use "Lou Ella's Cake" as a Strawberry Shortcake in the summers - this one can be used for that too. Just put the batter in a 9" x 13" pan. Put your strawberries in their juices on top of the cake after
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From The Land Of Shee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I love this cake. Its so moist and delicious. Not powdery dry like some other cakes. Just what I was looking for Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Cake mixes can't produce the texture and flavor of a made-from-scratch cake, and when I find a recipe I love, I hang on to it. It was easily made, a boon for a busy homemaker, and it can be made as festive as desired. I used it as a base for a trifle-like dessert, but the parts that didn't go into the trifle were quickly snapped up. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Lewis
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yummy cake, although I wouldn't call it a yellow cake. I'm not sure what I would call it, though. I was out of regular milk, so I used buttermilk - oh my! This was a very light, tender moist cake. The flavor is marvelous - my co-workers raved, and that was without any frosting! Several people said it was just like their grandma used to make. We're in the South, so you kow that's a compliment! This would be perfect with fresh berries, icecream or custard. I think any frosting other than a glaze might overpower the delicate nature of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this cake with cake flour and added baking soda and salt to make it self rising. I didn't have three 8 inch pans, so I used three 9 inch pans. The cake was very moist, but kind of coarse, which I hear is normal for cake from scratch instead of from a box. Maybe it just takes a while to get used to that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times, using all purpose flour and following the suggestion to use 2 less teaspoon flour and adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt for each cup of flour. It was pretty good. Then the other day, I decided to try doing the same thing using cake flour, and it was the best cake I've ever made. I don't think I'm ever going to look for another yellow cake recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I baked it in 2 - 9" pans. Big mistake - it rose a lot (and spilled onto my oven floor!) Mine turned out a tad crumbly and not as moist as I'd expected. I didn't like the taste enough to make it again according to the directions. (I think it was just too buttery-tasting for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States