Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this cake with cake flour and added baking soda and salt to make it self rising. I didn't have three 8 inch pans, so I used three 9 inch pans. The cake was very moist, but kind of coarse, which I hear is normal for cake from scratch instead of from a box. Maybe it just takes a while to get used to that texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times, using all purpose flour and following the suggestion to use 2 less teaspoon flour and adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt for each cup of flour. It was pretty good. Then the other day, I decided to try doing the same thing using cake flour, and it was the best cake I've ever made. I don't think I'm ever going to look for another yellow cake recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sanbon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I baked it in 2 - 9" pans. Big mistake - it rose a lot (and spilled onto my oven floor!) Mine turned out a tad crumbly and not as moist as I'd expected. I didn't like the taste enough to make it again according to the directions. (I think it was just too buttery-tasting for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I'm a teenager and even I (a novice baker!) can bake this cake PERFECTLY! The only thing is wrong about this recipe is the timing. I'm baking using a conventional oven and I have to bake the cake for 45 minutes before the cake was baked nicely. This is the second cake I managed to bake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
this is a great recipe!! the cake turned out really nice - and moist. all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made this cake yesterday and it was terrific! Everyone loved it. The texture and flavor were great. I made this with lemon creme cheese frosting, which was good but much too sweet. The cake itself was divine:-) I will definitely make this again, but will use a lighter fluffy whip creamish type of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really easy recipe to follow. The cake only lasted for a day because it was so finger licken good. It fell apart a little when I took the cake out of the pan..it was probably my fault. At least it was good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This cake was so delicious. Rich, moist, homemade flavor and texture. This mixed up quickly in 1 bowl. I made a sheet cake with this. I used egg beaters instead of whole eggs. This is a great recipe, I'm so glad you shared Grandma's cake with us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made this recipe today and will definitely make again. It is a bit on the sweet side, so next time I will add less sugar. I did as Eva said, since I had no self rising flour and it did work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Really Good! I didn't have self-rising flour so I looked up how to convert All Purpose and I found that for each cup of all-purpose flour, you are supposed to decrease the amount by 2 teaspoons and then add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I sifted the flour first (a good tip to make a lighter cake), and once the mixture was the pans I dropped each pan onto the counter a few times to get out the air, and to prevent the dreaded dome shape. These took 25 minutes to finish baking in my oven. They are light and delicious, and a good basic yellow cake recipe for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States