Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by staceyanne1220
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was excellent! I made it for my sons first birthday and he really loved it! I followed the recipe to a T, receipt I only used 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract as opposed to a tablespoon. it was delicious and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe. I've been trying for years to find a recipe that didn't taste like cardboard. This recipe is easy and delicious. I actually made a marble cake with this and it turned out to be the best tasting cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I made cupcakes and wow!They baked beautifully, perfectly moist and DELICIOUS! Didn't have self rising flour, used all purpose flour I converted. Simple, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I tried this recipe as a cupcake and unfortunately with it being in my oven for about 5 to 7 minutes they ended up burning on the outside of the cupcake. Wish I could give this recipe a zero but there is no option for that. I followed the directions to the exact and the burning was the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Just finish making this cake. Made it just the way you said and it came out perfect.I will make this one again. Next ttime I'm invited to a gathering I will make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I love this recipe! It's very hard to find a white/yellow cake that is this moist. The flavor is delicious also. I've used it several times and it's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I loved how simple it was to put together the ingredients. However, for some odd reason my butter melted and it was barely softened and the batter became watery. Maybe it's my location not sure or my kitchen aid. However the taste was there and they ended up coming out okay and will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe. Mixed it all by hand as don't have an electric mixer at the moment and it still came out light and moist. I reduced the sugar a little but could have made it a whole half cup less. I thought the mixture was rather runny when I used all the milk mixture but resisted the temptation to add more flour (thank goodness). Will definitely return to this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was ok. Reminded me of cornbread more than cake. The Batter's consistency was more like cookies than a cake. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States