Grandma's Moist Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Tried this last night came out very well but I wanted a lemon cake. I substituted vanilla extract for lemon. And if I had thought about lemon zest should have gone in too. But all in all the cake baked beautifully and yes smacking the pans before putting them in the oven will prevent the domes of doom. And I'd have to disagree with everyone about the two 9" cake pans I used them and it didn't overflow came close but my pans held It I'm thinking I must have deeper pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe. It is rich and moist. I didn't have enough white sugar so I used three fourths brown sugar as a substitute. I baked it in one "9" springform pan for about 70 minutes, lowered the temp to 340 for the last half hour and it turned out great. The brown sugar made it taste like toffee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leon Isaac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
th best receip for moist vamilla sponge cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I was hesitant to try this recipe. With the short list of ingredients how could it taste like a made from scratch cake that I wanted to serve to at the office to celebrate a co-worker's birthday? The coworker requested yellow cake with chocolate frosting. It seemed like such a simple and plain request and I was hoping to make something a little more elaborate. I am very glad I tried this recipe. The flavor was wonderful although I think it tasted more like a vanilla cake than the normal yellow cake. It was moist and delicious and I received many compliments. I will definitely make this recipe again and will experiment using other icing flavors with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My cake turned out OK. The batter tasted SOOO GOOD, I was expecting the baked version to taste better than it did. My cake was a little grainy (?) and just didn't taste like much. Very light, fluffy, and crumbly. I wonder if adding a box of pudding mix would help make it more flavorful and just a bit more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this cake!!!! I got this tip from a navy cook to add Greek yogurt to get it even more moist (I added a small $1 cup from Wal-Mart). I was so surprised because I struggle in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalisa Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty and moist cake. I used regular flour and just added the baking powder and salt. I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar since I don't like my cakes super sweet and I added orange zest to the mix. I have dozens of tried cake recipes in my files and I will be adding this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! It's simple but produces a lovely, buttery, VERY moist & delicious cake. I'm a cake designer and I have tried lots of recipes and this is my new "go to" yellow cake recipe. Not only is it delicious but it is nice and sturdy and will hold up to fondant nicely. I paired it with a small amount of my whipped buttercream icing and fresh strawberry filling. (But great without icing as well) Perfect! My Thanks to Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina LeGrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shante Chambliss
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My 3 year old daughter made this cake recipe with my assistance. But OMG it is so Moist & So Yummy..!!! We will be making it again but as cupcakes next time..!!! Thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante Chambliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceyanne1220
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was excellent! I made it for my sons first birthday and he really loved it! I followed the recipe to a T, receipt I only used 2 tsp of pure vanilla extract as opposed to a tablespoon. it was delicious and super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States