Grandma's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
for something as basic as meatloaf without this recipe i fail everytime. i read the reviews and the recipe did not require the addition of an envelope of onion soup mix. but it sounded delicious so i added the whole thing. yipes! delicious. used some of the cream of mshroom soup for gravy making . the two additions really took this most basic of meals up a couple of notches. i served it with baked pototoes and french style string beans coorken in sliced fat back pork. added yeast biscuits and my friends came back for seconds on everything nothing left over and there were only 4 of us! even a beginer couldn't mess this up. ..ps as for mel's failure, i think he set the oven at 190 instead of 375 must have misread the internal temp for the oven temp. hope he reads this again and gives this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I didn't particularly enjoy this, but 3 of our 7 LOVED it and demolished a double recipe in 2 days. I am not a sausage-in-the-meatloaf kind of person, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Instead of using canned mushrooms, I used equal amounts fresh baby bella mushrooms. I chopped them into fine bits and sauteed them in a little butter with the onion and a couple cloves fresh minced garlic. I let it cool a bit before folding it into the meat loaf mixture. Right before it finished, I made a quick mushroom gravy to serve over the top. I paired this with Creamy Garlic Mashed Potatoes and fresh steamed green beans. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Just like mom made. Simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I really loved this simple recipe. I did add a dash of thyme, some garlic powder, salt and pepper. The only thing is, I had to cook it for an extra 20 minutes! It was still almost raw inside after the 50 minutes on the instructions! Make sure you check it before you turn off the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Pretty good. I dropped the onions (I don't like them) and mushrooms (boyfriend hates them), and used an extra egg (I found it a little dry before cooking). I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
been baking for 2 hours, still isnt holding shape. more of a meat paste than loaf. wont try this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The recipe was good, I am a sauce guy and there is no sauce, so I added 1/2 cup of ketchup mixed with 1 tbs of brown sugar. I also added cayenne pepper to give it a kick. 10 minutes before done I added Monterey Jack Cheese and chopped parsley to the top. To make it more fun we made it in a square cupcake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie1109
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe was flavorful, moist, and relatively easy to make. We put it in an 8x11 pan to help the meatloaf cook faster. We like our meatloaf a bit more well done than other people. We used a 1/4 pound sausage instead of the half pound and still found it to be too greasy. I thought the recipe would make great meatballs for stroganoff. The presentation wasn't good, I might add some parsley or a red sauce for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Meatloaf is one of my favorite meals and this recipe made one of the best meatloafs I've ever had. It was very moist and tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upnorth1964

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States