Grandma's Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
EXCELLENT!!! I did make a couple minor changes, I used 1 lb of sweet italin sausage and 2lbs of lean ground beef. I also added 1 sweet diced onion while browning the meat. The sauce was very thick and meaty which is exactly what I was going for. Thanks for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This sauce is wonderful. I did add some diced onion and some green pepper to the meat while browning it. I also added fresh basil, thyme and mushrooms to the sauce. Now I would like to add that for all the reviews that claim this is too meaty or changed the types of meat used and gave it a lower rating, READ THE NAME "Grandma's Meat Sauce". It clearly states that this is a very thick meaty sauce. Changing any ingredients or adding some will change the flavor. Most people are not going to use veal at 15.00 a lb but if you want the true flavors of this recipe I suggest you splurge, it will be well worth it. And then you can give it a true rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Yummo! Made a few changes as others suggested. I used the sweet Italian sausage and then for the rest of the meat I used hamburger and added a little bit of onion when cooking the meat. Also, putting it in the blender makes the meat not quite so chunky...I had never done that before so it was fun to try and I'm glad I did. I also added some brown sugar to the sauce while simmering to give it a little sweeter taste. This makes a lot of sauce!! Am going to freeze the remainder to put in other Italian dishes. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This one's a keeper! I added a small diced onion, fresh basil and a splash of red wine and let it simmer for most of the day. The house smelled wonderful and tasted even better. I served this over cheese ravioli with Jo's Rosemary Bread. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Needed something quick so I changed it a bit...cooked 1 lb hot chicken sausage and 3/4 lb sweet sausage with 1 lb of ground turkey. Then I sauteed lots of sliced garlic with chunked onions and zuchini, removed from pan in order to sautee mushrooms. Used two prepared marinara (TJ's) to which I added dried oregano and parsley then added the above ingredients and simmered together for 30 minutes. spooned over penne pasta. Delicious. Got several requests for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Just right! I used sausage I made myself, and round steak I ground myself. I did not use veal. I used all fresh herbs and added a good dose of crushed red pepper for some spice. I made a double batch and froze half for another day. I made lasagna and used the fresh home made ricotta recipe from this site. It was a wonderful, delicious meal we will be having again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe for a homemade meat sauce. I substituted veal with ground pork and my grocery store did not carry sweet Italian sausage. I had to use a mild Italian sausage. My husband and in-laws raved that they thoroughly loved it. I am not a huge fan of sausage but still enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I would have given this a four, but my mother in law, mom and husband all raved about it so much, that I'm giving it five. Like others, I just used sausage and hamburger. I also through in a little sugar and parma cheese in at the end, but other than that, followed it to the letter. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Awesome recipe. I substituted 1lb ground turkey and 1lb ground steak. I also sauted onion when I browned my meat then added that to my sauce. I also added mushroom. I did a red wine reduction after I finshed cooking my meat and mushrooms. I like my spices so I added a few more: I added 1 tsp thyme, 2 tbsp freshly minced basil, 1 tbsp parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was very good! I used 1 lb of sweet Italian turkey sausage and 2 lbs of lean ground beef. I also added a diced onion and a apckage of mushrooms, chopped, at the time I added the garlic and like others I added some wine towards the end of the cooking time. I like my sauce a tad sweet and 1/2 tbsp of sugar did the trick. Overall a very good basic meat sauce recipe that can be adjusted to your personal tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Chef John’s Penne with Vodka Sauce

Discover what a splash of vodka can do for creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States