Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I need to try this again. My meringue came out perfectly. I added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to the egg whites and sugar and used a metal bowl that I had sitting in the fridge overnight (along with my mixer's beaters.) I made sure to use the high speed setting on the mixer from the start (learned from a previous experience) and really was proud of how the meringue ended up. Buuuttt, then I managed to overcook the filling and there didn't seem to be as much of it to put into the pie shell as I should have had, though it still tasted pretty good. Lesson learned! Hopefully, everything will turn out nicely when I make this for my mom's birthday in October!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy to make used some of the tips as I like a big pie-- never lasts long enough in our house. I used 3 lemons for the juice and the rind. I did add extra cornstarch 1/2tbs to hot liquid and thickened in no time. With my 3lemons I yielded over 3/4 juice but found no issues with that. For merginue don't do it first as someone suggested as mine did not have the bounce it once had by the time lemon was done. I did 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 tsp vanilla to the merginue. In the end it all worked out and was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So good! Followed the directions as is and was surprised at how perfect it came out. Only problem was keeping from eating it all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious! I did add 1 teaspoon cream of tartar to the meringue, just because I always use it in meringue. My husband loved this for his birthday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have made this 3 times now for my hubby's birthday. He absolutely loves it. I am not a great baker, but this recipe is not difficult. I do use the juice of 3 lemons instead of 2, but other than that I follow it as written. It has gotten me great brownie points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been baking for years. Everything from cookies to custom cakes. I've always struggled with pies and especially meringue topping. This is hands down the best tasting prettiest lemon meringue pie recipe I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gallegos752
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Delicious! Next time I might add more lemons. Mine were kind of small. Definitively fixed my lemon meringue craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was good but i had to bring the amount of cornstarch up to 5 tablespoons to get the right consistency. It was alittle to strong with lemon flavor to me put all in all it was a good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I tried before to make lemon curd but failed, your video and recipe are just spot on. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mairead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipperary, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
great flavor and textures. Going to try a mixer next time, was too difficult to beat the eggs by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States