Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bfreckles
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Excellent! Despite some mellow weeping under the meringue it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
First time ever making a lemon meringue pie(which I usually don't care for)and it turned out perfect.The sweet and tart balance is perfect.I actually really enjoyed THIS lemon meringue pie!Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
For some reason I struggled with this recipe. First time it was soupy and didn't set. And it took forever to whip the meringue into stiff peaks. Second time I added more cornstarch (in water) and it set really thick. So if it's a little soupy it should still set fine. For meringue: beat eggs, then add 1 tbsp sugar at a time, beat more, etc, but not too much or else meringue will set too stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This is hands down the best lemon meringue pie I've had. I have mate it over and over for family and for parties and it is always a huge hit. The recipe may be too sweet for some, but I think it is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
WOW!!! This tasted just as good as what you would get at a bakery. I followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect! My hubby really liked it too. I will for sure be making this again.. so easy and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My 1st time making lemon meringue and it worked! I read a lot of reviews and here's what worked for me. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. 2 important things - cook your pie shell first and increase the number of hours this really takes to about 8 hours. I had time for it to cool but not chill and it wasn't quite as great. Luckily, I made 2 pies and the next day served the other chilled one - incredible! Also, definitely double the recipe for the filling. It was great, can't imagine how little there would be if I hadn't doubled it. I kept meringue portion the same and it was enough for me but not a gigantic portion. I didn't know how to do meringue so here's what I learned. Whisk the eggs until foamy also means - until it doubles or triples in size so go beyond just the foamy part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I am not a baker, but this recipe made my friends think I actually knew what I was doing. The filling was lemony deliciousness and the meringue (which of course is the part that made me pancicky) was a breeze. Totally hit at the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ailetcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess Gould
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Easy to make and delicious! I made additional gluten free ramekins for myself in addition to the pie. I increased the recipe by half, used Bob's all purpose gluten free flour in place of the regular flour. Pour the lemon filling directly into ramekins and seal with meringue & bake 10 minutes. It's just as delicious, and an easy way to please both wheat eating pie lovers AND gluten free guests without much hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Gould

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Tip: Crush or grind finely about 4 ginger snap cookies (about 3 Tbs.); sprinkle over the bottom of the baked pie crust before filling. This makes a moisture barrier and prevents the bottom from getting soggy. Delicious pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Turned out very nicely, but the meringue really shrank after a couple of hours in the fridge. I followed the suggestion of others to make the meringue first (after prepping everything for the curd).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States