Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I was asked by my boyfriend to make this pie. It turned out great. I also made one that was a lemon lime mix. That was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Baked just as directed and it turned out great! My first Meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe. It is my "go to" for lemon meringue. I am an experienced baker from the South. We know our pies! I make as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Farmer Lovern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Absolutely Smooth and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marius Zeeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This recipe was a recipe catastrophe. I know how to make a REALLY good lemon meringue pie, I couldn't find my usual recipe so I just used this one. The curd would not thicken to a proper consistency.I followed the recipe exactly and it wasnt good and then no matter how much I cooked it, added cornstarch, stirred the curd would just no thicken. I see that many people had luck with this recipe but my personal experience was terrible. Would never use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I need to try this again. My meringue came out perfectly. I added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to the egg whites and sugar and used a metal bowl that I had sitting in the fridge overnight (along with my mixer's beaters.) I made sure to use the high speed setting on the mixer from the start (learned from a previous experience) and really was proud of how the meringue ended up. Buuuttt, then I managed to overcook the filling and there didn't seem to be as much of it to put into the pie shell as I should have had, though it still tasted pretty good. Lesson learned! Hopefully, everything will turn out nicely when I make this for my mom's birthday in October!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy to make used some of the tips as I like a big pie-- never lasts long enough in our house. I used 3 lemons for the juice and the rind. I did add extra cornstarch 1/2tbs to hot liquid and thickened in no time. With my 3lemons I yielded over 3/4 juice but found no issues with that. For merginue don't do it first as someone suggested as mine did not have the bounce it once had by the time lemon was done. I did 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and 1/2 tsp vanilla to the merginue. In the end it all worked out and was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
So good! Followed the directions as is and was surprised at how perfect it came out. Only problem was keeping from eating it all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Easy and delicious! I did add 1 teaspoon cream of tartar to the meringue, just because I always use it in meringue. My husband loved this for his birthday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States