Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I made this twice now. The first time, I was in the middle of the process when I realized I couldn't find my measuring spoons. So, I ended up not quite putting the right amount of corn starch in. Needless to say, it was a little runny that time. Second time around, equipped with proper measuring spoons, it turned out perfect. After reading some of the reviews where people had trouble, I will say: if your pie is runny, its because you didn't add enough starch .. the second time around I did add an extra 1/4 teaspoon of cornstarch). If the meringue isn't fluffing up enough, I used a hand mixer and it fluffed up perfect with stiff peaks (this was my first pie I ever made, and first time making meringue).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The Meringue wasn't whipped and it was more bubbly and very flat. There was also a lot more lemon than meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yes yes yes! I did make this substituting the water for milk. Delish. I have tried it bothlemon and lime. Delish either way. My very picky hubby loves it! Has never lasted long enough for others to try it.. I only gave it 4 because of my milk subsitution, but in all fairness I haven't tried it with water so I do not know how it compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babi Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have never made lemon meringue pie before, so I just made it for myself. It came out fantastic! I am a pretty experienced baker and I found the recipe very easy to follow. It was the perfect mix between sweet and tart and tastes like heaven. I plan on making this for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great tasting, with a perfect amount of sweetness and tartness and without a starchy flavor that some pies have. The meringue was nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. Making it was really fun... despite almost burning down the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Perfection! Made as written. No 'tweaking' is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Lots of compliments on this recipe. This is the first lemon meringue I have attempted, and I found this recipe to be simple and easy! I love the natural lemon flavor. I used instant clearjel and didn't have a runny pie. It also greatly reduced the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I substituted Splenda for the Sugar in the filling 1 cup for 1 cup.. turned out WONDERFUL!!! this recipe is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was my first try at a lemon meringue pie completely from scratch. I Followed this recipe as written. It was simple and the taste is absolutely spot on. Thank you for this simple, delicious and inexpensive recipe. Also, I think my sweetie loves me a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States