Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Awesome! Used one cup water and half a cup of milk and it still turned out nice and creamy. This is the first recipe I have followed that hasn't curdled the filling. The meringue took a long time to thicken but it turned out perfect with a pinch of cream of tartar added near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe is great. The lemon curd is delicious. The only thing I do differently is make more merengue. Merengue deflates a bit after baking so if you increase the merengue by 2 egg whites and 2 more tablespoons of sugar you will have a perfect amount for 1 pie. I also add 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tartar to the egg whites before whipping them (they whip up more easily with this) and I add a half teaspoon of vanilla to make the merengue extra flavorful. Hope you enjoy these tips! Yum on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cambodia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Delicious and beautiful so present and serve. I will make a lot more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Ok, so I've made this pie before and its wonderful however, I keep forgetting to double the curd its just not enough to fill a decent pie. Also I use another small lemon, zest and juice and 1 extra tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this exactly as it was written and it was awesome! I will take the advice of others re: refrigeration, as some of the meringue separated but it didnt matter. It was delicious and this was my first ever attempt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissouriMary
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I'm a "family" cook (for 40 some years) and nothing gourmet so that's my level of experience and I had never baked a meringue pie. My husband loves lemon pie so I decided to tackle this for Valentine's Day. Wow! It was a huge success. I did watch the video and followed the directions exactly including "tempering" the egg yolk by adding a bit of the hot filling before putting the yolks into the hot pan. My meringue was perfect; I'm just so proud of myself. Thanks, Emily for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elayne
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Made this pie- waiting for it to cool down before we dig into it- can't wait- looks amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elayne

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious! Made with Meringue II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
love it the best lemon pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This indeed is a great recipe!! Perfect Taste :) it looked perfect too until I took it out from oven. After about 5 minutes lemon filling became watery. I followed the recipe exactly so do not know where I went wrong... Again, taste was perfect but need guidance to achieve perfection in texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States