Grandma's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this recipe and used refrigerated pie crust, 1 can of carrots, and 1 can of peas. Everything else was as the recipe indicated. My daughter, 5 1/2 years old, said it was the best dinner ever and that she would give it 12 stars, not 5. She, like me, scooped up bits of the crust with the veggies and turkey and the yummy sauce. Yum. My son, 3 1/2, he poked all the things separately. We had half the pie leftover. My parents warmed it up and thought it was superb. Mom thought brandy added to the sauce or sauteed mushrooms would be great additions. I might try that next time along with reducing the amount of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
It was very good. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this recipe with leftover veggies and turkey. I added garlic and onion powder and white pepper to dough based on other comments. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Filling very yummy, crust a little dry and tasteless. I spend some time mixing the crust and rolling it out, and it turned out very dry. The contents were very tasty though. I didn't have any onions or cream of potatoe, so I used a can of cream of onion. I did season the sauce as recommended by others including basil, thyme, oregano, garlic salt, which really enhanced the flavor of the filling. Would definitely make it again, but use either a store bought crust or a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe was great. However, I did use a package of steamer frozen mixed vegetables in place of the canned mixed vegetables because the canned ones had too many potatoes in it. My husband really enjoyed the pot pie, too. I didn't have the cast iron skillet so I just used a large glass pie dish (10 1/2"). The pie crust turned out great as well. It was flaky and not soggy on the bottom. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this using leftover turkey chopped up, 1 small package of frozen mixed vegetables, 1 can of cream of chicken,1 can of cream of potato soup, 1/2 onion chopped, and 1 can of water. I sauteed the onion and turkey in 1 tablespoon of olive oil for about 2 minutes just till onions were clear. Then, I added the soups, and mixed in 1/2 can of water from each can (for a total of 1 can). I simmered the turkey mixture for about 10 minutes till it started bubbling. While that simmered, I let the 2 pie crusts from the box come to room temperature, then laid one crust in a pie baking dish. Filled it with the turkey mixture until just below the edge, and covered with the 2nd crust. Crimped the edges together, slit in the middle and baked in oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Better than store bought pot pie! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I used ready to fill pie crust and frozen veggies. EXCELLENT recipe! My husband a picky eater loved it, THANK YOU Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie
Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I wish I read the reviews first. The only thing I would change would be to buy a store crust. The effort for the crust was completely not worth it and kind of ruined the experience. The filling is divine! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I made my own crust but otherwise made it exactly to the recipe and it is wonderful. My husband and 2 year old loved it too. Great way to use up leftover turkey or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe, thanks! My husband and 2 boys loved it (and that's saying something these days). I made my own crusts with this recipe. They were VERY light and flaky, and wonderfully thick. My only changes to the crust recipe... substituted a couple tbsp butter when I ran out of shortening AND substituted 1 tbsp white vinegar for part of the chilled water (my grandma's trick for flaky crust). I also baked it at 450F for the first 10-15 minutes to brown the crust. Perfect! The filling was tasty and very easy with frozen veggies and canned soup. Thanks for a yummy farewell to the Christmas bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States