Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Awesome pie! I took it to a construction day out at my cousin's place and the guys just gobbled it up! I cut the sugar back (3/4 c. brown sugar on the bottom, and a scant 1/2 c. for the filling). I also tossed my filling together rather than just sprinkling the sugar on top. In the filling I added 2 T. flour and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I was unable to serve this right away since I was taking out to the guys, so my pan was one sticky caked-on rock-hard mess! To clean the cast iron, fill 3/4 with water, add a couple of squirts of DISHWASHER soap (not dish soap), and boil on the stove for 10-20 min. Turn off and let sit overnight. The gunk will slide right off the pan in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
For the life of me I cant understand why someone would rate a recipe and go on to say they havent made it yet. That defeats the entire purpose of the system. However, I DID actually make this apple pie exactly as written and it was fabulous! I wouldnt change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bittersweet
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is just so good and pretty easy to make. I followed directions as printed and it turned out great. i added a photo for users to see. Thanks for a great recipe!! Family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bittersweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is such an outstanding recipe, thanks so much to the cook who shared it. Over the past 45 years I have probably made hundreds of apple pies but this one is just a treat! I made it as written. The process and the iron Skillet is the key to the finished product being so good. I like cooking with Iron cookware so I was delighted to find this recipe. You may want to adjust the amount of white sugar you put on the apples between the layers. I cut it in half because I just know how we like things. It is super sweet no matter how much you put between the layers because of the butter and brown sugar on the bottom. Just adjust to your own families taste but do make it. It is a wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
OMG...didn't think this would be good since there is no flour to thicken but it's totally awesome. Might spray the skillet with nonstick spray before melting butter. bottom crust sticks really bad unless you serve it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have to rate this even though I haven't made it because I do a rhubarb pie that is done very much like this. All the ingredients make it so good and a dip of vanilla ice cream is just the thing to top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was easy and super! Served it warm with ice cream. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
OMG! This came out wonderfully....I made the crust fron scratch(hello Jiffy)the sliced apples were tossed with the sugar and cinnamon so they were totally coated. Very important not to overcook it and the top sparkles like sunshine hitting snow. Tiny chunks of butter on top more like 3TBLS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this today following directions except that I did add a little allspice with the cinnamon; otherwise exactly like the recipe. Must admit I was a little skeptical about that middle crust getting done but it was absolutely delicious and that crust was done! My granddaughter came in just as it came out of the oven and she gave it an A+. Will definitely keep it in my recipe file and have no doubt I will make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! It was very easy to make with a different method than any pie I'd ever made. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States