Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is such an outstanding recipe, thanks so much to the cook who shared it. Over the past 45 years I have probably made hundreds of apple pies but this one is just a treat! I made it as written. The process and the iron Skillet is the key to the finished product being so good. I like cooking with Iron cookware so I was delighted to find this recipe. You may want to adjust the amount of white sugar you put on the apples between the layers. I cut it in half because I just know how we like things. It is super sweet no matter how much you put between the layers because of the butter and brown sugar on the bottom. Just adjust to your own families taste but do make it. It is a wonderful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
For the life of me I cant understand why someone would rate a recipe and go on to say they havent made it yet. That defeats the entire purpose of the system. However, I DID actually make this apple pie exactly as written and it was fabulous! I wouldnt change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
OMG...didn't think this would be good since there is no flour to thicken but it's totally awesome. Might spray the skillet with nonstick spray before melting butter. bottom crust sticks really bad unless you serve it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Awesome pie! I took it to a construction day out at my cousin's place and the guys just gobbled it up! I cut the sugar back (3/4 c. brown sugar on the bottom, and a scant 1/2 c. for the filling). I also tossed my filling together rather than just sprinkling the sugar on top. In the filling I added 2 T. flour and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I was unable to serve this right away since I was taking out to the guys, so my pan was one sticky caked-on rock-hard mess! To clean the cast iron, fill 3/4 with water, add a couple of squirts of DISHWASHER soap (not dish soap), and boil on the stove for 10-20 min. Turn off and let sit overnight. The gunk will slide right off the pan in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Super Easy to make and the taste is just Heaven. I have a really good Apple Pie recipe and I really did not want to try this because my other recipe is so good I did not feel the need to change it. Curiousty got the best of me after reading all the reviews and I figured why not?!?! Well needless to say my son claims this apple pie is 10 times better than my usual apple pie...I did not even think it was possible to top my old recipe. My husband was speechless after he tried it and later admitted it was the best pie he had ever tasted. I finally gave in and tasted it myself and only one word can describe this....WOW!!!! I will definetly be making this again. Thanks for posting. Word to the wise. DON'T CHANGE A THING! It's PERFECT as is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrina Kintzinger Thomas
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I have made this twice since finding it a month ago!! To it makes it easier… mix the sugar spice(they make an “apple pie” spice that is excellent)and add ½ cup flour. Coat the apple slices in this before starting to layer your pie. The first time I made this I used the recommended amount of spice and brown sugar, the second time I cut the brown sugar in half and doubled the spice, it was much better not syrupy, which my family prefers. I also doubled the recipe using 4 crusts and turned this into a cobbler, of course you have to double the baking time as well! EASY and is the best apple pie ever! Thanks TL Dixon, I love it! I took photos if you want to see the process on my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/KatrinaRadia?v=photos&sb=4#!/photo.php?pid=30715263&id=1120429019
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Kintzinger Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
OMG! This came out wonderfully....I made the crust fron scratch(hello Jiffy)the sliced apples were tossed with the sugar and cinnamon so they were totally coated. Very important not to overcook it and the top sparkles like sunshine hitting snow. Tiny chunks of butter on top more like 3TBLS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia
Photo by bittersweet
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is just so good and pretty easy to make. I followed directions as printed and it turned out great. i added a photo for users to see. Thanks for a great recipe!! Family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bittersweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Absolutely the best apple pie my family and I have ever had. The only changes made were, we made our own crust, used 100% whole wheat flour, and used unrefined turbinado sugar in place of the white. I rolled the crusts out very thin. This worked perfectly. Baked the pie 45 minutes, then turned off the oven and let it sit in there while we had our dinner. What a rich delight that pie was! Thank you so much, T. L., for a recipe that thrilled the whole family! We just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! It was dreamy. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States