Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I always thought I made a KILLER apple pie, but this one is easily as good! It has winner stamped all over it! The pie crusts I bought were 2 to a pkg. so I used all four in an 8" skillet. At first I thought I would have a mess in the oven since this torte was pretty tall.....but it was contained in the skillet without spillage. Bet this one would be good for the Dutch Oven Groups cook-offs. My skillet was well-seasoned so all the brown sugar on the bottom came off with the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Super Easy to make and the taste is just Heaven. I have a really good Apple Pie recipe and I really did not want to try this because my other recipe is so good I did not feel the need to change it. Curiousty got the best of me after reading all the reviews and I figured why not?!?! Well needless to say my son claims this apple pie is 10 times better than my usual apple pie...I did not even think it was possible to top my old recipe. My husband was speechless after he tried it and later admitted it was the best pie he had ever tasted. I finally gave in and tasted it myself and only one word can describe this....WOW!!!! I will definetly be making this again. Thanks for posting. Word to the wise. DON'T CHANGE A THING! It's PERFECT as is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My family and I agree, this is the best apple pie we have EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Made this over the weekend and it was great! My family couldn't get enough of it. Super easy to make but it tastes like you slaved in the kitchen for hours to create this treat. The only thing I did different was cut the sugar to 1/3 cup that I sprinkled over the apples of each layer. Wonderful served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream..yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! It was very easy to make with a different method than any pie I'd ever made. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this today following directions except that I did add a little allspice with the cinnamon; otherwise exactly like the recipe. Must admit I was a little skeptical about that middle crust getting done but it was absolutely delicious and that crust was done! My granddaughter came in just as it came out of the oven and she gave it an A+. Will definitely keep it in my recipe file and have no doubt I will make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bittersweet
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is just so good and pretty easy to make. I followed directions as printed and it turned out great. i added a photo for users to see. Thanks for a great recipe!! Family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bittersweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Awesome pie! I took it to a construction day out at my cousin's place and the guys just gobbled it up! I cut the sugar back (3/4 c. brown sugar on the bottom, and a scant 1/2 c. for the filling). I also tossed my filling together rather than just sprinkling the sugar on top. In the filling I added 2 T. flour and a sprinkle of nutmeg. I was unable to serve this right away since I was taking out to the guys, so my pan was one sticky caked-on rock-hard mess! To clean the cast iron, fill 3/4 with water, add a couple of squirts of DISHWASHER soap (not dish soap), and boil on the stove for 10-20 min. Turn off and let sit overnight. The gunk will slide right off the pan in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
OMG! This came out wonderfully....I made the crust fron scratch(hello Jiffy)the sliced apples were tossed with the sugar and cinnamon so they were totally coated. Very important not to overcook it and the top sparkles like sunshine hitting snow. Tiny chunks of butter on top more like 3TBLS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was easy and super! Served it warm with ice cream. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States