Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had problems with this recipe. For starters, the bottom crust on mine welded itself to the bottom of the cast iron (all of my cast iron is seasoned VERY well!). Also, the middle layer of crust did not cook all the way through and turned out mushy. Lastly, this recipe could have used more apples easily. In all fairness, I will say that the flavor of the apple filling was incredible! To those considering this recipe, I would make the following changes just based upon my experience: when melting the butter and topping with the brown sugar, do this cooktop and not in the oven. When you lay down the bottom crust, push down well. Otherwise, just omit the brown sugar. Lastly, I would prepare the filling with the seasonings and refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DodgerFanRedding
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Unbelievably good. I made a few tweaks though and will add another tweak, even though it is good as is! Made it in one layer. And I cut the sugar down...used 1/3 of the recipe. Also added some nutmeg and a splash of vanilla. Next time I will use 1/2 the butter. But the crust of caramelized sugar really made the recipe. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendi
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this pie following the recipe exactly. It was really amazing, and I actually already have an apple pie recipe that I love. This is now going in my apple pie rotation because it is truly delicious! A few notes--it *is* sweet, but my husband and I like it this way. Usually I up the amount of cinnamon (I like my pies to be really spicy) but I think the 2 tsp of cinnamon is just right for this pie. We did not have any trouble with the pie sticking to the bottom of our cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This pie is Outstanding!!!! A little Vanilla ice cream and it's the perfect Apple pie. Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
YUMMY! YUMMY! Since I don't have a cast iron skillet I made this in stoneware csserole dish, which worked just fine. Other changes I made was to use Honey Crisp apples and homemade pie crust from scratch. Topped with vanilla ice cream and this proved to be a perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Marvelous!-The only thing I added was a tablespoon or cornstach to the sugar mixture that was sprinkled onto the apples. Next time I will sift the cornstarch, sugar & cinnamon together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very, very good. Made exactly as directed and hubby said, "this is the best pie you have ever made" I agree. Do however spray your skillet with cooking spray or you will not get the pie out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
FANTASTIC!! Thank you. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrina Kintzinger Thomas
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I have made this twice since finding it a month ago!! To it makes it easier… mix the sugar spice(they make an “apple pie” spice that is excellent)and add ½ cup flour. Coat the apple slices in this before starting to layer your pie. The first time I made this I used the recommended amount of spice and brown sugar, the second time I cut the brown sugar in half and doubled the spice, it was much better not syrupy, which my family prefers. I also doubled the recipe using 4 crusts and turned this into a cobbler, of course you have to double the baking time as well! EASY and is the best apple pie ever! Thanks TL Dixon, I love it! I took photos if you want to see the process on my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/KatrinaRadia?v=photos&sb=4#!/photo.php?pid=30715263&id=1120429019
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Kintzinger Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Believe this would be better made with a sweeter apple and more of them and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States