Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Lisa Scherer Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
very good and EZ to make I added pecans on top next time I'm going to cut the brown sugar and butter on the bottom that was a lil'sweet for me other then that GREAT it was gone in oneday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Scherer Smith
Home Town: Westminster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My wife and I love this recipe! I made it exactly how it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Fantastic! The only thing I changed (by accident) was a few more little cubes of butter on the top. Awesome Treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Came out yummy!!!! I used a mixture of Cortland and Granny Smith apples. I made it the night before for a party at work. Next time I will add more apples since it went down a bit after resting overnight. Taste and texture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I had only made apple pie once, I don't make pies...not my favorite. I have made this one at least 6 times. So easy, soooooooo good. Sometimes I add carmel candy in the layers. Sometimes I use a skillet, sometimes a pan. And I usually mix all of the apples with all of the sugar and cinnamon. My son wants me to try it with peaches...hmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Absolutely the best apple pie my family and I have ever had. The only changes made were, we made our own crust, used 100% whole wheat flour, and used unrefined turbinado sugar in place of the white. I rolled the crusts out very thin. This worked perfectly. Baked the pie 45 minutes, then turned off the oven and let it sit in there while we had our dinner. What a rich delight that pie was! Thank you so much, T. L., for a recipe that thrilled the whole family! We just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! It was dreamy. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Probably thee best Apple Pie I have ever tasted! thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Oh wow this was amazing...best apple pie I have ever had! But how could it not be, with melted butter and brown sugar at the bottom! Also, since no one says it anywhere but I guess it's obvious, use a 9 inch skillet. I think I used almost six apples, too. Make sure you REALLY fill it as apples cook down quite a bit. I used the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site for the crust (that is the BEST crust!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Everyone I served this to has LOVED IT! I halved all sugars and increased apples to 6 with a little lemon juice. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States