Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
FANTASTIC!! Thank you. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatrinaRadia
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I have made this twice since finding it a month ago!! To it makes it easier… mix the sugar spice(they make an “apple pie” spice that is excellent)and add ½ cup flour. Coat the apple slices in this before starting to layer your pie. The first time I made this I used the recommended amount of spice and brown sugar, the second time I cut the brown sugar in half and doubled the spice, it was much better not syrupy, which my family prefers. I also doubled the recipe using 4 crusts and turned this into a cobbler, of course you have to double the baking time as well! EASY and is the best apple pie ever! Thanks TL Dixon, I love it! I took photos if you want to see the process on my facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/KatrinaRadia?v=photos&sb=4#!/photo.php?pid=30715263&id=1120429019
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatrinaRadia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Believe this would be better made with a sweeter apple and more of them and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I always thought I made a KILLER apple pie, but this one is easily as good! It has winner stamped all over it! The pie crusts I bought were 2 to a pkg. so I used all four in an 8" skillet. At first I thought I would have a mess in the oven since this torte was pretty tall.....but it was contained in the skillet without spillage. Bet this one would be good for the Dutch Oven Groups cook-offs. My skillet was well-seasoned so all the brown sugar on the bottom came off with the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Super Easy to make and the taste is just Heaven. I have a really good Apple Pie recipe and I really did not want to try this because my other recipe is so good I did not feel the need to change it. Curiousty got the best of me after reading all the reviews and I figured why not?!?! Well needless to say my son claims this apple pie is 10 times better than my usual apple pie...I did not even think it was possible to top my old recipe. My husband was speechless after he tried it and later admitted it was the best pie he had ever tasted. I finally gave in and tasted it myself and only one word can describe this....WOW!!!! I will definetly be making this again. Thanks for posting. Word to the wise. DON'T CHANGE A THING! It's PERFECT as is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My family and I agree, this is the best apple pie we have EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Made this over the weekend and it was great! My family couldn't get enough of it. Super easy to make but it tastes like you slaved in the kitchen for hours to create this treat. The only thing I did different was cut the sugar to 1/3 cup that I sprinkled over the apples of each layer. Wonderful served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream..yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! It was very easy to make with a different method than any pie I'd ever made. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this today following directions except that I did add a little allspice with the cinnamon; otherwise exactly like the recipe. Must admit I was a little skeptical about that middle crust getting done but it was absolutely delicious and that crust was done! My granddaughter came in just as it came out of the oven and she gave it an A+. Will definitely keep it in my recipe file and have no doubt I will make it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bittersweet
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This is just so good and pretty easy to make. I followed directions as printed and it turned out great. i added a photo for users to see. Thanks for a great recipe!! Family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bittersweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States