Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! It was dreamy. Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Probably thee best Apple Pie I have ever tasted! thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffalosMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Oh wow this was amazing...best apple pie I have ever had! But how could it not be, with melted butter and brown sugar at the bottom! Also, since no one says it anywhere but I guess it's obvious, use a 9 inch skillet. I think I used almost six apples, too. Make sure you REALLY fill it as apples cook down quite a bit. I used the French Pastry Pie Crust from this site for the crust (that is the BEST crust!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Everyone I served this to has LOVED IT! I halved all sugars and increased apples to 6 with a little lemon juice. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great pie, everybody loved it! I made it for Thanksgiving and sprayed the skillet with veg spray. After baking it, the pie got cool but I stuck it in my very warm oven 350 degrees until we finished eating (15 minutes). The pie came out of the pan without any problems. I took the rest of the leftover pie and stored it. With alot of soapy water, I boiled the water in the skillet, scrapping bits with a spatchula (spelling). Great! This pie is so yummy--a new holiday tradition is born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I had problems with this recipe. For starters, the bottom crust on mine welded itself to the bottom of the cast iron (all of my cast iron is seasoned VERY well!). Also, the middle layer of crust did not cook all the way through and turned out mushy. Lastly, this recipe could have used more apples easily. In all fairness, I will say that the flavor of the apple filling was incredible! To those considering this recipe, I would make the following changes just based upon my experience: when melting the butter and topping with the brown sugar, do this cooktop and not in the oven. When you lay down the bottom crust, push down well. Otherwise, just omit the brown sugar. Lastly, I would prepare the filling with the seasonings and refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DodgerFanRedding
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Unbelievably good. I made a few tweaks though and will add another tweak, even though it is good as is! Made it in one layer. And I cut the sugar down...used 1/3 of the recipe. Also added some nutmeg and a splash of vanilla. Next time I will use 1/2 the butter. But the crust of caramelized sugar really made the recipe. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendi
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this pie following the recipe exactly. It was really amazing, and I actually already have an apple pie recipe that I love. This is now going in my apple pie rotation because it is truly delicious! A few notes--it *is* sweet, but my husband and I like it this way. Usually I up the amount of cinnamon (I like my pies to be really spicy) but I think the 2 tsp of cinnamon is just right for this pie. We did not have any trouble with the pie sticking to the bottom of our cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This pie is Outstanding!!!! A little Vanilla ice cream and it's the perfect Apple pie. Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
YUMMY! YUMMY! Since I don't have a cast iron skillet I made this in stoneware csserole dish, which worked just fine. Other changes I made was to use Honey Crisp apples and homemade pie crust from scratch. Topped with vanilla ice cream and this proved to be a perfect recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States