Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
OMG!! It is an easy recipe and oh, so good! I had never made a pie such as this before and it came out perfect! I love cooking in my cast iron, so this was the recipe for me. I feel that it is foolproof! I highly recomend it to anyone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My 10 year old grandson and I made this together. we had so much fun doing this.it was so easy and delicious!, I already bought more ingredients to make another. I used a little less sugar in the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was AWESOME!!! I made this Skillet Apple Pie for desert lastnight, I was a little leary of the size because there is only my husband and myself and we really don't eat much in the way of deserts. But boy am I glad I went ahead and made it because it was so good and NOW we have left overs!!! I think it is probably the best and easiest apple pie I have made in our 42 years of marrage. Thank you for sharring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is by far my most favorite recipe for apple pie ever. I have learned that you should use Light Brown sugar rather than Dark Brown sugar. The dark brown is heavier tasting. If you don't want the pie to stick to the bottom of the skillet, take it out before it cools. I don't measure my sugar, I just pour it all in a bowl together. A mandolin helps tremendously to slice your apples thin and evenly. My friends LOVE when I make this pie, which is often because it is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
this pie is amazing! i am asked to make it for all events and everyone always wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alacatmar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow! this pie is delicious and I'm not a traditional apple pie fan! Don't understand why some reviewers want to add flour to this recipe...It's perfect just the way it's written! I love its gooey deliciousness..I have made this 2 times now, and only used 2 pie crusts because that's all I had at the time...Highly recommend this recipe. Great topped with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARSKESD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
OMG. The best apple pie I have ever made in 30 plus years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe instead of refrigerated pie crust and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
A recipe as perfect as they come. Some other posters have said it could use less sugar and I agree that it would be delicious even with considerably less, but it's delectable with them too. I'd never even thought of making apple pie in a skillet before I moved to Korea, but suddenly I was confronted with the fact that you can't find pie pans in this country, so this recipe was a godsend on Thanksgiving. Thank you so much from both me and my little expat community! We all enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Absolutely the best apple pie I have ever tasted! This was the first recipe prepared in my new iron skillet. It was absolutely beautiful and tasted even better than it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States