Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
As is by far the best apple pie I've ever made! Made it in other variations as well like Blueberry and Cherry - with those you must use some cornstarch mixed in with the sugar to thicken because of the juiciness of the berries otherwise it will be too runny! If I could give this a 10 I would thank you T L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Schiering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my Goodness!!! Best Apple Pie EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjromer2
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe came out awesome!!!!#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I do not have a cast iron skillet, so I made this in a 10 inch oven safe non-stick skillet and it worked fine. If I make this again, I would go with a 12 inch skillet. I followed the recipe exactly and my pie was very high and a little unwieldy to cut and serve. Also, depending in the size of your skillet you will want to roll out the pie crusts a bit--I did not and wish I had so I could seal the edges better. One final tip--I think next time I will try melting the butter and brushing it on the top of the crust before baking so it is evenly distributed. I served it with whipped cream with a little sugar and cinnamon added. Overall, the pie was easy to make and delicious, would definitely try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pavil
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made it exactly as shown and it turned out great. I re-seasoned my skillet before making it and it didn't stick at all. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
BEST PIE! ANd MY old pie won first place at the fair! This is way better! The ONLY change is as I slice my apples into a bowl, I put sugar a pinch if salt, the cinnamon and a little flour in with the apples and mix. It keeps apples from getting brown and is just overall easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
5 stars for the brilliant idea to make pie in a cast iron skillet! I'm content with skipping the middle crust and using Trader Joe's pie crusts that fit my 12" skillet perfectly. After you've enjoyed this delicious apple pie, try other fillings and serve this no-fuss, homey dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My go to apple pie. Consistent excellent reviews every time. Do not alter the amount of butter or sugar, it will stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Amazing! Best pie I have tried! IMHO even better than my old standard by Grandma Opal! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States