Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best & easiest pie ever! I only use about half the sugar called for because the first one was wayyy too sweet. I also added a dash of nutmeg because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luckie Meh
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this skillet apple pie today. Followed recipe except I used about 1/4 less of white sugar. I used Marie Calendar pie crusts. came out flaky, buttery, goodness. Definitely one of the more richer apple pies that i'm used to. Maybe next time I'll slice the apples a tad larger and use less sugar to suit my taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckie Meh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent but cut back on the sugar. Mine didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I must tell truth, I was really lazy and used store bought crust and canned pie filling. I also cut the brown sugar in half and used a 9 inch skillet. I was worried because the bottom crust kept sliding down the side of the pan, but it came out fine and both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! We picked wine sap apples today and I used them in the pie! However, I somewhat changed a lot! First, I added a bit of nutmeg, allspice, and clove to the apples, and I added all the sugar at once--which I do NOT recommend doing and I won't do this again. The reason being that I found that adding the sugar and cinnamon made the apples start releasing all their juice. I had all the apples in a bowl and they stayed mostly dry for a while until I added the sugar and then a puddle of juice collected on the bottom. Either add the sugar on top, or do it right before adding it to the pan. Also, I used pie crust made with cold vodka and water. The vodka adds moisture but the ethanol inhibits gluten formation. Then instead of a third pastry dough on top, I swapped it for a pecan brown sugar crumb (recipe here http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cranberry-Apple-Crumble-Pie-355964) and it turned out amazing!!! Except, make sure (and maybe this was because I used a 12-inch skillet) to cook the pie longer. I took it out and realized the middle layer was not near done. I'd say add 10-15 minutes. That also could have been due to the puddle of juice that collected on the bottom. Can't say for sure. Other than that it was super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Mackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
As is by far the best apple pie I've ever made! Made it in other variations as well like Blueberry and Cherry - with those you must use some cornstarch mixed in with the sugar to thicken because of the juiciness of the berries otherwise it will be too runny! If I could give this a 10 I would thank you T L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Schiering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my Goodness!!! Best Apple Pie EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjromer2
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe came out awesome!!!!#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I do not have a cast iron skillet, so I made this in a 10 inch oven safe non-stick skillet and it worked fine. If I make this again, I would go with a 12 inch skillet. I followed the recipe exactly and my pie was very high and a little unwieldy to cut and serve. Also, depending in the size of your skillet you will want to roll out the pie crusts a bit--I did not and wish I had so I could seal the edges better. One final tip--I think next time I will try melting the butter and brushing it on the top of the crust before baking so it is evenly distributed. I served it with whipped cream with a little sugar and cinnamon added. Overall, the pie was easy to make and delicious, would definitely try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pavil
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States