Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
5 stars for the brilliant idea to make pie in a cast iron skillet! I'm content with skipping the middle crust and using Trader Joe's pie crusts that fit my 12" skillet perfectly. After you've enjoyed this delicious apple pie, try other fillings and serve this no-fuss, homey dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My go to apple pie. Consistent excellent reviews every time. Do not alter the amount of butter or sugar, it will stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Amazing! Best pie I have tried! IMHO even better than my old standard by Grandma Opal! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is soooo good!!! I've even made it with brown sugar/Splenda blend and canned lite apple pie filling for a really quick dessert and the kids don't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I first had this at a friends. absolutely great. I made it myself yesterday, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this dessert twice and my family LOVES it!!!!! I may try to tweak it a bit since the brown sugar and butter in the bottom causes the bottom crust to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
OMG!! It is an easy recipe and oh, so good! I had never made a pie such as this before and it came out perfect! I love cooking in my cast iron, so this was the recipe for me. I feel that it is foolproof! I highly recomend it to anyone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
My 10 year old grandson and I made this together. we had so much fun doing this.it was so easy and delicious!, I already bought more ingredients to make another. I used a little less sugar in the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was AWESOME!!! I made this Skillet Apple Pie for desert lastnight, I was a little leary of the size because there is only my husband and myself and we really don't eat much in the way of deserts. But boy am I glad I went ahead and made it because it was so good and NOW we have left overs!!! I think it is probably the best and easiest apple pie I have made in our 42 years of marrage. Thank you for sharring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States