Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mjasonlane
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gigs2much
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this last night. I followed the recipe with a few changes. I have a porcelain cast iron skillet, so I used that the help with sticking. I had gala apples so I just reduced the amount of sugar. I had 4 pie crusts so I just used them all and made kind of a cobbler. Instead of layering the apples, sugar & cinnamon separately, I just mixed them all in a big bowl, then layered in the pre sugared apples. I let it bake about 1.5 hours due to the extra dough. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigs2much

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Holy Moly !! The absolute best apple pie I've ever put in my mouth. I can't wait for the opportunity to make this again. I would not recommend changing a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bighouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: China Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I have saved this recipe because it reads delicious but what size cast iron skillet? This isn't the first recipe that uses a cast iron skillet but no one says what size skillet. Please help, Thank you, DeeDee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
The filling is similar to my own apple pie. I would however add a little freshly ground nutmeg. I wasn't crazy about the middle crust as It is unbrowned crust. Finally, I have never understood the love affair with Granny Smith apples. This may be unfair as I live in apple country in Washington state where we have a huge choice of pie apples. Granny Smiths are flavorless and seldom get soft. I really do not like my apples crunchy. If it were my only choice I would make berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best & easiest pie ever! I only use about half the sugar called for because the first one was wayyy too sweet. I also added a dash of nutmeg because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luckie Meh
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this skillet apple pie today. Followed recipe except I used about 1/4 less of white sugar. I used Marie Calendar pie crusts. came out flaky, buttery, goodness. Definitely one of the more richer apple pies that i'm used to. Maybe next time I'll slice the apples a tad larger and use less sugar to suit my taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckie Meh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent but cut back on the sugar. Mine didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I must tell truth, I was really lazy and used store bought crust and canned pie filling. I also cut the brown sugar in half and used a 9 inch skillet. I was worried because the bottom crust kept sliding down the side of the pan, but it came out fine and both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! We picked wine sap apples today and I used them in the pie! However, I somewhat changed a lot! First, I added a bit of nutmeg, allspice, and clove to the apples, and I added all the sugar at once--which I do NOT recommend doing and I won't do this again. The reason being that I found that adding the sugar and cinnamon made the apples start releasing all their juice. I had all the apples in a bowl and they stayed mostly dry for a while until I added the sugar and then a puddle of juice collected on the bottom. Either add the sugar on top, or do it right before adding it to the pan. Also, I used pie crust made with cold vodka and water. The vodka adds moisture but the ethanol inhibits gluten formation. Then instead of a third pastry dough on top, I swapped it for a pecan brown sugar crumb (recipe here http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cranberry-Apple-Crumble-Pie-355964) and it turned out amazing!!! Except, make sure (and maybe this was because I used a 12-inch skillet) to cook the pie longer. I took it out and realized the middle layer was not near done. I'd say add 10-15 minutes. That also could have been due to the puddle of juice that collected on the bottom. Can't say for sure. Other than that it was super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Mackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States