Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Oh yes I have tried this recipe! Made it for my family many times! I will never bake a apple pie any other way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Made this several times and my husband loves it!And it is so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjasonlane
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gigs2much
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this last night. I followed the recipe with a few changes. I have a porcelain cast iron skillet, so I used that the help with sticking. I had gala apples so I just reduced the amount of sugar. I had 4 pie crusts so I just used them all and made kind of a cobbler. Instead of layering the apples, sugar & cinnamon separately, I just mixed them all in a big bowl, then layered in the pre sugared apples. I let it bake about 1.5 hours due to the extra dough. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigs2much

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Holy Moly !! The absolute best apple pie I've ever put in my mouth. I can't wait for the opportunity to make this again. I would not recommend changing a thing. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bighouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: China Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I would however add a little freshly ground nutmeg. I wasn't crazy about the middle crust as It is unbrowned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loon Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best & easiest pie ever! I only use about half the sugar called for because the first one was wayyy too sweet. I also added a dash of nutmeg because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luckie Meh
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made this skillet apple pie today. Followed recipe except I used about 1/4 less of white sugar. I used Marie Calendar pie crusts. came out flaky, buttery, goodness. Definitely one of the more richer apple pies that i'm used to. Maybe next time I'll slice the apples a tad larger and use less sugar to suit my taste. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckie Meh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent but cut back on the sugar. Mine didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I must tell truth, I was really lazy and used store bought crust and canned pie filling. I also cut the brown sugar in half and used a 9 inch skillet. I was worried because the bottom crust kept sliding down the side of the pan, but it came out fine and both my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States