Grandma's Iron Skillet Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my Goodness!!! Best Apple Pie EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjromer2
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe came out awesome!!!!#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I do not have a cast iron skillet, so I made this in a 10 inch oven safe non-stick skillet and it worked fine. If I make this again, I would go with a 12 inch skillet. I followed the recipe exactly and my pie was very high and a little unwieldy to cut and serve. Also, depending in the size of your skillet you will want to roll out the pie crusts a bit--I did not and wish I had so I could seal the edges better. One final tip--I think next time I will try melting the butter and brushing it on the top of the crust before baking so it is evenly distributed. I served it with whipped cream with a little sugar and cinnamon added. Overall, the pie was easy to make and delicious, would definitely try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pavil
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made it exactly as shown and it turned out great. I re-seasoned my skillet before making it and it didn't stick at all. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
BEST PIE! ANd MY old pie won first place at the fair! This is way better! The ONLY change is as I slice my apples into a bowl, I put sugar a pinch if salt, the cinnamon and a little flour in with the apples and mix. It keeps apples from getting brown and is just overall easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
5 stars for the brilliant idea to make pie in a cast iron skillet! I'm content with skipping the middle crust and using Trader Joe's pie crusts that fit my 12" skillet perfectly. After you've enjoyed this delicious apple pie, try other fillings and serve this no-fuss, homey dessert anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My go to apple pie. Consistent excellent reviews every time. Do not alter the amount of butter or sugar, it will stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Amazing! Best pie I have tried! IMHO even better than my old standard by Grandma Opal! Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is soooo good!!! I've even made it with brown sugar/Splenda blend and canned lite apple pie filling for a really quick dessert and the kids don't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States