Grandma's Homemade Italian Sauce and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
The meatballs for this recipe are fantastic, but the proportions for the sauce are all wrong. There's so much tomato paste, and so little of anything else, that the whole thing ends up tasting like tomato paste. I would go with 30 ounces of paste and 18 ounces of tomato sauce, rather than 48 ounces of paste and no sauce. Also, throw in 2 onions instead of 1, twice as much mushroom, bay leaf, and basil, 6 (or more) garlic cloves, half a cup or so of parsely, and 2 teaspoons each of oregano and thyme. Stand by with some sugar (a tablespoon or two) if you need to cut it further. Also, when the porkchops simmer for 8 hours, they end up tasteless without adding anything to the sauce, so maybe put them in later. If there's less concentrated paste flavor and more other flavors, this sauce would be great. (Again, the meatballs are wonderful.) But as it is, it's not worth 9 hours of your time. (Also, this makes a lot more than 10 servings; I'd guess 15 or 20.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I made the meatballs only. Although I didn't care for the original recipe, my second batch was fabulous with a few modifications. ***I only used 3/4c. bread crumbs. I used 1/2# sweet Italian pork sausage rather than ground pork and veal. And I used an Italian Herb blend rather than just dried parsley.*** I did simmer them in jarred sauce. Both the meatballs and sauce improved each other! YUM, YUm, Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I just made the meatballs in this case, took advice from other user and only used 3/4 cup of italian bread crumbs, turned out very good, everybody loved them, will make again for sure. 5 star no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This recipe was good, but not the perfect meatballs I have been searching a LONG time for.(I'm pretty picky about my meatballs ;) Actually, I think that all they need is a little more garlic. I must say that they did taste their best the next day and then the next day after that, as most do. I will be trying them again with just a wee bit of modification to "Jess-ize" them. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I only used the meatball recipe and made with my own pasta sauce. Everyone raved about the meatballs. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I just made the meatballs. We really liked them and will make them again. Next time I will try the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I got this recipe for just the meatballs and they were horrible! Way too many breadcrumbs and they tasted like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I'm not a huge meatball lover but I made these for my husband and he enjoyed them. I made a lot and froze them and they tasted good whenever I used them. I really liked the parmesan flavor. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
EXCELLENT!!!! Just like my grandma Palaia's recipe. She never used meatballs so that was an added bonus. Very good. I've never had bottled sauce in my life, but I imagine it's bad. Nothing is like homemade sauce that has been simmering for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMELLA1010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I thought this was a very easy and tasty recipe and will make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States